[Original Novel] Mistress of Magic: Morgan's Apprentice - Prologue

in #story8 years ago (edited)
A story of magic, love and loyalty.

This book is (probably) the first in a series. I have yet to finish writing it, not to mention having it edited, but I could use the encouragement to complete it. So for your consideration, the prologue.

Disclaimer: This is erotic fantasy novel. If you're easily offended by such content, enjoy the prologue, but the rest of the book is probably not for you. :)

Our world hangs in a delicate balance of power. It always has. Since the dawn of time, men have had the physical advantage over women, while women received the gift of giving life and some of them - that of magic.  

The power of magic and life would give us women an advantage over any physical force of nature that was given to man. So the Mother and Father of the world made it so that the women born mage would need a crucial catalyst for their sorcery, a source of power – the pleasure and devotion of men. 

To be born to magic is both a gift, and a curse. Back in the dark times, many tried to use force and violence to make women submit to their will, so they could use their magic for the purposes of conquest, deceit and of course profit. This is why the Sisterhood of Magic was established, the oldest living legend of our world, a great and mighty network of circles and covens dedicated to protecting, teaching, training and continuing the magical bloodlines of the woman mages. The sisters keep the world as balance, like the goddesses in the legends of old. 

If magic awakes in you in your youth, during that transformation from child to woman, you are taken to the Sisterhood with great pride and celebration, be you highborn or peasant. You will have to leave your home, your childhood friends and dreams, and become a mage, a Lady of the Sisterhood, until you are too old to draw power from the body of a willing man. Once you have trained and come of age, if no other purpose is bestowed upon you, you will wed a noble man, and know in your heart that any daughter you might birth can be taken away from you just as you were from your mother, if magic flows in her blood. 

Perhaps it is lucky that a wedding banquet and the burden of motherhood are not in the stars for me. They never were. When the Sisters came to my mother to test me, and the eldest of them lay her hand upon my head, I knew something was different even before her eyes fluttered open and met mine with a mixture of surprise and terror. She nodded at the other Sisters, her face pale in the light of the candles in my birth family's home and I knew. I knew in my heart that something in me made me different from any Lady of the Sisterhood, and it made everyone afraid. 

Very afraid. 

Let me know if you think in upvotes and comments, and follow me if you want more.
Sort:  

Oh no we will enjoy it to the full )))

Small advice for chapters that will contain vivid imagery put nsfw (not safe for work) tag

Will do. Thanks!

Much offended by erotic content! It offends my, uh, manly pride.

No, loved it. This is going to be a NY Times bestseller, guaranteed.

I am not that hopeful, I just... after the "50 shades" fiasco I just HAD TO write a GOOD erotic BDSM novel. And since I am a total nerd, I decided my goal is: Have "Game of Thrones" take "50 shades" into a back alley and show it what's what. Consensually, of course. :)

LOVE IT!
A very good start to a draft. I definitely see potential to expand the prologue a bit but it's very intriguing and I'm heading to Chapter 1 now :)

This should be interesting. As someone who's a fan of magical fantasy-type genres, I've never really heard of the power being gender-specific, or having to derive the power from the opposite sex. It certainly puts an interesting twist on the standard for magic.

And adds the sexy component. :)

An excellent beginning. Following!

interesting begining

Thank you! The rest is up here (just posted chapter 7) and I am HUNGRY FOR COMMENTS! I need to finish this book this month so I can start the next one for NaNoWriMo.

nice carry on

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44