Worth It: a short story

in #story6 years ago

Hello Steemians!


So here's a short story. I haven't written in a while, so I'm a little rusty and the story might not be so good. However, I did enjoy writing it.

Anyway, enough talking nonsense.


Worth it


It was the morning after, 6:30 to be exact. I woke up to the blaring of the alarm on my phone. After a quick internal debate, my thumb hovering over the snooze button, I touched "dismiss" and lay on my back.
"Come on, you can do it" I encouraged myself, only to continue laying still, staring at a stain on the ceiling. I definitely hadn't gotten enough sleep, but it had been worth it. Last night was definitely worth being this tired right now.
With a yawn and a groan, I finally sat up. My head was spinning, my vocal chords sore. "I'm just tired," I convinced myself. "I'm going to be ok." After one last longing look at my pillow, I stood up, putting my hand against the wall for balance. I was up. Good for me.
The rest of my morning routine was uneventful and barely memorable. Clothes, teeth, breakfast, out the door and on the bus.
The bus wasn't as crowded as usual. The school year must be over because there were no children to be seen. I sat near the back of the bus, where no one would bother me, my headphones creating a buffer between me and the rest of the world.
I quietly watched the familiar buildings go by as the bus went along its route. Before I knew it, it was time to get off.
I smiled and nodded back to people who greeted me as I entered the office, and found my desk. I plopped my bag down, turned the computer on, and stared at the monitor.
It was going to be a long day.
I was exhausted.
But it was worth it.

»»-------------¤-------------««

That's it. I hope that whoever happens to read my story enjoys it. Maybe I'll write some more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64103.87
ETH 2762.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65