You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I joined Steemit and share your story to win STEEM

in #story8 years ago

Hi @mallorcaman thanks for sharing your story on how you joined steemit!

I'm so happy that one of my posts was able to bring a user here, that means very much to me!

As for my own journey, I actually stumbled across Steemit on a WeChat moments share on my friends feed. My friend is largely interested in cryptocurrency and prior to this, I had no idea that this niche is becoming a wildfire ! Of course, I had heard about Bitcoin before Steemit but I didn't think much of it and that it was just a fad, how wrong I was.

So before Steemit, I was mainly using WeChat to share pictures and short stories, but this was just limited to my friends as the content cannot be accessed outside of WeChat by people who are not friends with me. There are some public accounts which actually use a form of advertising revenue share and microtipping as a way to monetize the content but with 1 Billion users on WeChat, it's quite hard to get much of an audience or be discovered.

I decided to sign up to Steemit because there seemed to be quite an active Chinese community but then I didn't expect the rest of the community to enjoy my culture clashing posts about Asia and China etc. So I decided to try put down my thoughts in both English and Chinese. Perhaps one of my more unique advantages here is that people can get a look into the life of a Chinese millennial which otherwise would have all been written in Chinese.

Of course, I wasn't a very proficient writer at the beginning and I was adamant on writing bilingual posts which take a very long time. I felt that this would reach a broader audience and that's one of my main goals, to share my life with all who are interested. Of course it would take a long time before my posts got a bit of traction, but I'm thankful to the people who have supported me and continue to support me, making this journey all the more fun and engaging.

I wish you a very pleasant time on Steemit. Your post made my day! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81