The Fallen and The Lost

in #story7 years ago

Writers Note

This is my first written story. Being able to express thoughts, feelings and imagination on paper brings a relieved state of mind by knowing that the chaos lying within can be brought out. I feel that everyone should find an art which makes them express themselves, solemnly for the purpose to achieve a peace of mind.

Chapter 1 – New World

The places that once were and the ways that once were followed by people changed right after the war. The war reached everywhere. Even on neighboring planets where people fled to hide. No one knew how it could have gotten so far to reduce the human population to less than half. And with the few survivors scattered everywhere it seemed even less.

After years went by, people once again adjusted to what the world had become. Feeling less affected by the causes of the past and only staying focused on surviving on what it left behind. The new world that earth had become would be described as a complete ruin in the desert with toxic oceans. The weather showed its anger on people by frequent sandstorms. On the neighboring planets it was much quieter. But just as dangerous. The survivors of the planets that had the means and artificial plantations to produce food called themselves planeters and demanded superiority above everyone else. With the amount of cruelty shown by the planeters no one would even want to call them human. They lived luxurious leaving everyone else to live in cottages and from the scarps of food thrown away by them. Because of their carelessness with the means of producing oxygen for the artificial city, toxic waste rivers where formed at the borders of the city and people were forced to live there. On all the planets it was the same. Every planet had only one or two artificial cities in which less than a thousand people lived and the planeters ruled. With food and supplies no longer coming from earth, every day was a struggle for the people living on planets. But everyone knew…. On earth they would be just as helpless.

Upon one of the cottages where it seemed a group of people lived when only one could, an old lady walked by. She held a bundle of cloths in her arms and looked beaten and tired. She tried to keep walking even though she knew any second could be her last. Just before she reached the cottage her legs gave up on her. “Help please somebody”. Out of the cottage came a young girl, startled, but ready to help by any means she could. “I’m so sorry we don’t have any supplies, today one of the planeters destroyed all of it and we haven’t gathered any yet” she said. “No, that’s not what I need. My name is Anne and I have something that needs to go to earth”. Anne opened the bundle of cloths and revealed a beautiful green plant in a pot, with grass growing in it. “This is a basil plant. It developed a rare potency to make soil fertile. It was tested on a sample of soil from earth and our results came positive. But it does not work on soil from this planet.”

“Sam who is outside?” a woman called from inside the cottage. “It’s an old lady, I’ll come in a minute!” She turned back to the old lady. “Please come inside” Sam said. “You can rest here”. Anne stood up and there was an urgency in the words she spoke now. “You have to understand that this can change and make earth a place we can live on again. With this the planeters will lose the power they have over the people”. Even though the old lady looked like she could collapse any second, because of the seriousness of her tone, Sam put her attention from helping Anne to engaging in what she was saying. “Miss Anne, I’m sorry but I don’t see how it could change so much, and why is this so urgent now?”

The old lady stood firm, looked straight at Sam and said “I have great shame in what I am about to tell you, but I am also a planeter. I have worked in the city’s laboratory and modified plants with my own benefit in mind and never for other people. But the moment this plant developed its potency I knew it could bring a great change that could benefit so many more than myself. I immediately showed the other planeters, which was my biggest mistake. They saw it as a threat to their way of living and destroyed all my researched work, but I escaped on time with this plant. They are looking for me and they will find me. But I doubt they know I have the plant. I need to give this to someone to carry out what I know will bring a change for the better before they find me. This plant needs to go to earth”. Sam stood quiet for a while and then said “I don’t trust everything you are saying. I lost many friends by the doings of planeters. But if you can give me proof that this can bring a change to what we’re living in now. I’ll help you”.

Sort:  

That was really good. Enjoyed this chapter very much. Going to read second chapter now!

I know Right ! Me too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69061.75
ETH 3774.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51