SteemFest 2016: A Tale of Debauchery in Amsterdam – Day 1

in #story8 years ago (edited)

As I stumbled my way back to my hotel Saturday night, I was distracted by the beautiful red lights.

amsterdam-2551_192083941.jpg

There was a cobblestone alley between two small buildings. A sexy seductress coaxed me in and offered me a taste. A taste of what? I had no idea. The entire day was mostly a blur. But let’s rewind for a moment and see how I ended up here.

I arrived in Amsterdam on Friday afternoon. I made my way to the De L’Europe hotel and checked into my room. I had a long journey from the Americas and a bit of trouble with my passport. I was ready for a drink. So the first thing I did after arriving in my very colorful room was to hit the mini-bar.

One tiny bottle of Tanqueray Gin. Gone!

One tiny bottle of Chivas Regal. Down the hatch! Well why not have another? I earned it!

These little bottles were getting annoying with their tiny caps that were getting harder to twist off. After downing five minis, I headed to the hotel's piano bar for some tunes and a few beers. I’m not much of a talker so I wanted to get “warmed up” before heading out to the meet-and-greet that night. I ordered a Stella Artois and listened to a Dutchman play Liszt’s Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2 on the baby grand piano. I looked out the window at the beautifully lit canal. A gondola full of cold but smiling faces had just passed by. It was such a delight!

amsterdam-1150319_19203a908.jpg

I ordered another beer as the Dutch pianist tickled the ivories. A lovely woman walked in and sat at the bar. She ordered what appeared to be a pink lady and slung her P-coat on the back of the chair. She said something to the bartender in Netherlands-speak as she glanced over her shoulder at me. They had a laugh. Surely at my expense.

I finished my second Stella and walked over to the bar to order a third. The woman stared at me the entire time I stood there. As I was about to walk away, she turned and faced me.

“You are man from America television, ya?”

I gave her a puzzled look.

“That man from music show?” She threw a half-smile at me and raised her chin. “With turning chairs and singers?”

I have been told that I look like Adam Levine. I don’t see it. But she thought she did.

“Um. No? I don’t think I know who you’re talking about.” That was a lie. I turned and walked back to my seat by the window. I had no time for small talk and flirtatious guessing games. I had an event to prepare for. And by “prepare for,” I mean, “get hammered!”

A few more beers later and I was ready for the show! I paid my tab and walked out to the street. I took a deep breath and headed to the very first SteemFest meet-and-greet!

I didn’t make it.

I ended up at a bar around the corner. I don’t know the name of it. I don’t remember which one it was. I only remember walking in, ordering a few shots, and then opening the door to my hotel room at some point later that night. There was a brief image of a tattoo mixed in there somewhere.

naked-1114269_1920f79ec.jpg

The next thing I remembered was waking up in the morning and seeing a woman leaving my room with a gray coat across her arm and black shoes in her hand.

That wasn’t a good sign.

I was pretty groggy. I wasn’t even sure where I was. The room was cold. I looked to the windows and saw that one was open. There was an empty bottle of champagne. There was an ashtray next to the couch with a couple of roaches in it. Not the insect kind. There were pillows on the floor. My pants were thrown across the desk. I was naked.

A flash of memory came back to me. It was a brief conversation with an English girl. She was telling me about her flight. I remembered feeling quite bored. She was cute though. She had pretty green eyes, pouty pink lips and a little nose. Strawberry blonde hair. Her jeans fit her very well. Her black heels really accentuated her legs and butt. The gray wool coat covered everything else.

Now I was a little bit worried. I wasn’t sure if anything had happened between us. I did a quick check just to be sure. I was good! But I wondered. Why am I naked and what was she doing here?

There was another flash of memory.

lips-839236_192022e7e.jpg

Nothing was adding up. I checked to see if my wallet was still there and that the contents were still inside. Everything was good.

I checked my kidneys. Still had both.

I didn’t have time for thinking. My mind was foggy. I couldn’t have been sleeping more than a couple of hours. I needed some rest but it was 8:00am and Saturday was going to be a long day.

This was the first full day of the very first SteemFest! This was going to be a day to remember! I was going to meet so many influential Steem users! I needed to have a great start to my morning and head over to the festivities.

So I went back to sleep.

SGL


End of Day One

Day Two Coming Soon!


All images attribution-free from Pixabay.com

If you enjoy my posts, please upvote, follow me, and Re-Steem!

postimage

Sort:  

Who doesn't love a story about a little debauchery. Looking forward to the next part.

Those are my favorite stories! I just hope this one is received well! :)

Haha, really? Nice shots and cool story! :D

You haven't heard the best parts yet! :)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.23 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 17 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52