Sunscape's Backyard Critters! - "Squirrel"... Did you not notice I am out of peanuts?

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Squirrels and their Peanuts


When I come out in the afternoon to sit on the back porch to enjoy some quiet nature time, the squirrels begin to arrive from all directions. When they see me, they know that the feasting is about to begin. They will come right up to the edge of the porch, often jumping up on the porch if I don't notice them right away. I have actually had them chatter at me from underneath my chair to get my attention. lol

"Buff"

This is Buff, a young male who is getting a little bit more comfortable with me being within 6' of him. He does not come to me to ask, but will wait until I throw the peanuts out to him. I imagine next year he will realize that I mean him no harm.

"Little Mamma"

This is "Little Mamma", I believe this is her first year as a mother. She is weaning her little ones at the moment, as you can see when she stands that her teets are shrinking. She is the boldest of all the squirrels and will actually come right up to the back door and stand up to see if I am in the kitchen. She actually has no fear of the cats either, walking right past them sleeping on the porch.

More please!

Here is little mamma coming back for another peanut. She is right below me asking for more. She will do this over and over until I convince her that I am out of peanuts.

"Ginger"

I love Ginger's coloring. She has a soft golden belly with ginger trimmings. Buff and her have very similar markings and I would not be surprised if they are siblings. She too is new to the group this year and I am looking forward to her getting accustomed to me also.

"Charlie"

This little guy doesn't like the peanuts. Instead he prefers sitting underneath the bird feeder feasting on the black sunflower seeds. He tends to get a bit territorial over them and chases the other young males away.

Tasty!

Little Mamma runs to the nearby garden to enjoy her daily treats. I love that when she shucks the peanuts that the hulls become compost in the garden beds.

"Big Mamma"

This is the matriarch of the group. She is the oldest squirrel and very comfortable with coming up on the porch with me. She will sit right next to me as she enjoys her snacks. I have to keep a broom on the porch for the daily cleanup.

There are a few more that are starting to discover the bird feeder and daily peanut offerings. Perhaps I will think of names for them as well and introduce them in another post at a later date. ;-)

Thank you for stopping by to view my backyard critter photos, I hope you enjoyed them.

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing your day

Previous Posts @sunscape
My Website
My Etsy Store
My Tweets on Twitter

Sort:  

Cool! love it! Thanks for the encouraging vote, love my squirrly friends. ;-)

All through the year, I find so many peanuts buried in my yard -- and none of my neighbors will admit to feeding the squirrels! So the critters must be bringing those peanuts from a few houses down the street -- or buying them themselves from the store at the end of the block!

I laughed so hard at your comment. My squirrels run to all my neighbors yards to bury their nuts. I often wonder if they will ever say anything to the patches of upturned grass in their yards. oooops!

Glad you had a laugh! I don't mind the squirrels digging around. I just think of how many peanuts must be out there in the neighborhood. Somebody is spending a lot of money on peanuts!

Enjoy my backyard squirrel photos as they come for their daily peanuts.

Oh my, I am super jealous. Nice shots!

Thank you very much, I love having them visit me daily.

They are lovely thanks for sharing.

Your welcome, thank you for your nice comment.

Wow, they look very cute @sunscape ;)

My backyard friends. lol

Squirrels are awesome. I have one that climbs up to my window ledge every day to collect the food I leave for her. The cat often jumps at her, but she just looks at him like, "Silly cat. Don't you know there's a window between us?"

They are so much fun, I know what you mean as they look at my cats as if to say .... don't even bother. It just makes me chuckle.

I was just enjoying our local squirrels the other day - again. :-)

We live across from a park that is teeming with tall trees and wildlife. The squirrels are so much fun to watch. A twitch of the tail, like a spring winding up and BOOM, huge leap up onto the tree.

What's the old saying? Squirrels are just rats with really good PR.

Thanks for sharing!

They truly are fun entertainment! I enjoy them every single day, tree-rat or not, I love them! I also like mice too!

Yeah, I never tired of checking them out and taking in their antics and acrobatics.
Mice are pretty adorable as well. I've heard that mice sometimes sing. Have you heard anything about that?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63