You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Writer, the 'Bot, and the Steemit Reader🤖

in #story8 years ago

One of the problems is that content creators can wear themselves out on creating; and then not have the brainpower to comment on other contributors' works.

(For me, maybe it would be nice to post, "hey great job", sometimes...but when I comment I like to show that I actually read the post ;>)

A second is that since there is a limited "supply" of commenters, the interest for certain categories is even lower.

As for the bots..well, I'll plead a loss of brainpower ;>

And down to the readers...I have lost track of the bookmarked Steemit posts I never read
hmm, title looks good, upvote, bookmark, move on, I PROMISE I'll come back

Nice job on the schizophrenia!

Sort:  

And down to the readers...I have lost track of the bookmarked Steemit posts I never read
hmm, title looks good, upvote, bookmark, move on, I PROMISE I'll come back

And that's the reason I see 2 views on many a post that has literally hundreds of upvotes. The reality often doesn't reflect the perceived fame of an article. I would pretty much like to see people read articles first before upvoting. Make bookmarks instead of upvotes if you want to come back to read the actual text. (Please, guys?)

I think that curation bots are the number one reason you get that discrepancy, but you do have a point...

maybe require that the post actually be opened before voting?
Although I do that and still sometimes just skim before moving on

maybe require that the post actually be opened before voting?

That might be worthy of a thought. :)

Whenever I'm lacking motivation to write a post, I search other posts until I find something I'm passionate enough to make an extended comment on, and that usually provides enough energy to write a post. Sometimes the comment becomes the post.

That has happened to me as well!

Thanks, Steve!

One of my hopes, and one of the reasons I provide a Catalog of my work, is that (especially with the archival nature of the Steemit blockchain) "ordinary people" will be coming back far into the future and benefiting from what I write.

I also like to leave "meaningful" comments when I do comment, and so I appreciate you!

the catalog is a good idea; I keep an index of fiction, and I need to recreate that for other topics.

another idea I have thought of is link-chains; maybe not a full index, but a series of related posts

I have also thought about mirroring my Steemit work on a wordpres or blogger site, solely for adding tag searches and indexes.

you gave me some ideas - you're a really good commentator, Steve - Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60704.11
ETH 2452.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62