ULOG: DAY 8 JULY! UNITY IN DIVERSITY! EPISODE 8

in #story6 years ago

There was increased tension in the town. The presence of mobile policemen and the curfew imposed by the Kano state government because of the incessant killings restricted movements, and citizens were not happy about it but had no choice but to obey. 


Halima's mum called her to ask if she had spoken to FATIMOH  yet and she answered that she hadn't seen her sister as she had been very busy. Her mum ranted on the phone and told her to do what she was sent there for and return with her sister until the chaos had reduced. 

![1531051774096.jpg]()


After checking on Caleb and resuscitating him, the Doctor gave strict orders to the nurse that on no account should anybody enter his room without his approval. 


"Doctor, I'm so sorry. I didn't know telling him all I did was going to affect him health-wise. I just felt the need to start a conversation with him."


Doctor Audu smiled at her as he watched her innocent face depict remorse and pity. 


*"It's okay, but for now he needs maximum rest. He has been through a lot and I think any kind of discussion that isn't rosy is not healthy for him because he might fall in to a relapse and that could be really dangerous to his health."*


Halima sat at the visitor's room for a while feeling sorry for what happened to Caleb. *"I should have closed this my big mouth, I don't know why I just can't. God please, let nothing happen to that fine boy, please!"*

 She tried FATIMOHS number again but she still didn't pick so she told the nurse she will be back to check on Caleb. 


"She arrived FATIMOHS house and found the place in a total mess as blood stains were everywhere and the smell that emitted from the house was terrible. 


*"No wonder FATIMOH  is not answering her calls. Her phone is here."*  She said to herself. 


She put a call through to her parents and told them about the recent development. *"I said it, I said it! That useless and hopeless Christian Idiot has used my child for money rituals. I warned FATIMOH  but she wouldn't hear. Oh Allah, please take this shame away from my eyes."*


"Mum, I didn't say Sister is dead, all  I am saying is that there are blood stains everywhere and her phone is not with her."


A neighbour came out of his house and narrated the whole ordeal to Halima when he saw her leaving with a sad and worried face. He explained to her how a young man took her to the hospital and that the policemen who came later, arrested the young man that saved her. 


The whole gist didn't make sense to Halima. How will the police arrest someone that saved her sister's life? She begged the man to take her to the station or at least direct her, but he refused, saying he didn't want any business with the police. 


Halima returned to the hospital to check on Caleb and after being granted permission by the doctor, she entered his room and met him reading a book.  *"Hi, I see you are up and doing already."*


Caleb gave her a wry smile and proceeded to reading his book, he didn't want to give her a chance to start another topic of discussion. 


The doctor entered the room and was looking very lively and happy.  *"Doctor, thank you very much for helping my friend, you look really happy, what's the news?"* Halima enquired. 


"My dear, I'm super happy. The patient I told you about, she is sound and eating as we speak. I thank God for his mercies."


"Wow, that's wonderful, Allah be praised. I'm sure Caleb will be out of here in no time too and ready to go."


Caleb grinned and this time he didn't bother to look at their faces. 


Something about the hospital looked familiar to him, he knew he had been there before, but he just couldn't place it. 


The doctor checked his pulse to make sure he is okay, he assured him he was going to be fine and will be discharged as soon as his wounds start to heal.


When the doctor left the room, there was an eerie silence between both of them.


*"Say you were really hungry and dying, you had no money on you and everyone around you refused to help you with food, except a Christian, what would you do?"* Caleb's question took Halima by surprise and she paused for a bit before opening her mouth. 


*"Errrmmm, well, it depends."*


*"On what exactly?"*


*"If I don't have a choice."*


"Do you know what happens when people fall in love? Certain things like sense run out of their heads. At that point, all they do is think with their hearts as the heads do not even matter anymore. We basically don't care about our happiness anymore because that of our partner has become much more important.  Halima, have you ever fallen in love before?"


She was wondering where Caleb was going with all these questions. 


*"Ofcourse, I have been in love, but the bastard cheated on me with my best friend, can you imagine? Men, Allah will punish them!!"*


*"I'm sure Allah will start from your father first because he is a full grown man."*


Halima wished she could take back her words but she couldn't as the deed had been done already. 


*"Your boyfriend that Allah will punish, is he a Muslim or a Christian?"*


*"He is a Muslim, a devoted one for that matter."*


*"So what is your problem with Christians?"* Halima felt defeated, she was sweating profusely and couldn't say anything.


==========================================

*"Doctor, the guy that brought me here, I haven't seen him since I recovered, please I really want to see him, I miss my Caleb."*


Doctor Audu reminisced about the name for a while, he knew there was something familiar about the patient Caleb, now it was clear, he is the very same person. 


*"I am sure he will come around soon, just don't worry yourself too much."*


The nurse wheeled FATIMOH  out of the room on a wheelchair because she wasn't too strong to walk. 

![life story .jpg]()


Just then, Halima comes out of the room answering a call and she heard a familiar voice call her name...


...TO BE CONTINUED



IF YOU MISSED THE 

EPISODE 1 CLICK [HERE](https://steemit.com/story/@spark92/unity-in-diversity-episode-1)

EPISODE 2 CLICK [HERE](https://steemit.com/ulog/@spark92/ulog-day-2-july-unity-in-diversity-episode-2)

EPISODE 3 CLICK [HERE](https://steemit.com/ulog/@spark92/ulog-day-3-july-unity-in-diversity-episode-3)

EPISODE 4 CLICK [HERE](https://steemit.com/ulog/@spark92/ulog-day-4-july-unity-in-diversity-episode-4)

EPISODE 5 CLICK [HERE](https://steemit.com/ulog/@spark92/ulog-day-4-july-unity-in-diversity-episode-5)

EPISODE 6 CLICK [HERE](https://steemit.com/ulog/@spark92/ulog-day-6-july-unity-in-diversity-episode-6)

EPISODE 7 CLICK [HERE](https://steemit.com/ulog/@spark92/ulog-day-7-july-unity-in-diversity-episode-7)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99