MARRIED TO THE BOSS

in #story6 years ago

I was visibly late for work so I hopped into the next available taxi that came my way. I was so late that even when the driver said #100 for a place I normally paid #50 I didn't bother
old-couple-2313286_1280(2).jpg
image source
A new Boss had been transfered to the office and I didn't want to be the first to be in the black book. I called KEN on my cell phone to be sure if the Boss was around and he said No. None of us have met the new Boss before .I heaved a sigh of relief as I ended the call.

I paid my fare and ran out of the taxi in a haste and I almost fell down but I kept running. I signed in the Time book, and like all liars, I wrote 7-15am as against the 8am I arrived .

The next person came under my name and wrote 8am and I gave her a hard look as a beatdown.. I got to find out later that she is my new Boss, I almost fainted during her briefings.

"we keep complaining how bad and terrible this country is, yet we the citizens haven't in anyway done anything to make it a better place. you come to the office by 8 am and you are lying on your time book. Mr George, you are lucky I'm in a good mood today, you would have dusted your CV and go back to hunting for a Job"

I couldn't eat the whole of that day, the fact that my Boss was just a lady in her late 20s made it worse, I felt bad and I sent in a letter of apology the next day and she asked me to come in person.

Here I was, in front of a girl I'm older than, sweating profusely and shaking like a chicken whose neck have been cut off.

"I take it that you are sorry, at least that's what your letter says. Before you think I have any hidden agenda against you, the next time this repeats itself, You won't like me. You may leave "

I went to table and exhausted all the handkerchiefs I had, it was that bad.

As time went on, I noticed Madam Helen and I became very close, not relationship wise, she just loved the way I did my Job and always made sure I had extra bonuses when I pulled a deal through.

She always looked out for my ideas each time we had a board meeting, and whenever I was silent, she would ask that I said something, no matter how stupid, and at the end of the day, she would go with my idea.

This sent a negative message to some staff in the office who thought Madam Halen was just favoring me, but deep down inside, I knew she just wanted me to be up and doing.

On one of those day where we had a meeting outside, I had to drive her to the venue because her driver called in sick.

"George, is it that you don't find me attractive or something?"

I almost drove the car into a house after Madam made that statement, I mean, madam is super attractive, but I didn't think it's right to have eyes on the Boss.

"No really George just tell me, you all see a fine, beautiful and working class lady and you assume she has a Man in her life or she is not the kind of lady you should approach?"

I was surprised at Madam's sudden outburst. It's not like I said anything bad or something, I didn't even say anything.

"For months now, you and I have been working together and not for once have you given me a compliment or tell me that my shoes are nice. If I was one girl out there who depended on a Man for everything, I'm sure you would have taken advantage of her"

I still didn't say anything as I actually had nothing to say. Truth be told, i have never looked at Madam Helen with such eyes and I wasn't going to start anytime soon.

After the meeting that day, I noticed Madam's Helen attitude towards me suddenly changed and she became very strict towards me, my ideas no longer mattered and she still achieved a good amount of success, she was that smart.

Even when we bumped ino ourselves in the corridor she wouldn't respond to my greetings or anything..

I did everything to be diligent in my duties and even brought major deals to the company but madam Helen never for once praised me, but she still made sure i got my bonuses.

In my quiet times, i began to realize that I had something for Madam Helen, I missed our closeness back then and how we used to work closely on things. After deliberating with myself for a while, I decided I was going to tell her some stuffs the next day in the office.

So after perfecting my speech, And Stuttering in between lines, I entered Madam Helen's office and told her how beautiful she was and how long I have admired her and couldn't tell her.

"Are you done"?

Her question shook me.
"Now get out of my office and shut the door behind you.

I literally cried when Madam Helen said that, Infact I cried like a baby as I got to my text. I got a beep on my phone after 20 mins..

"So you had to wait for me to shoot my shot right? Ocean view restaurant, 5pm, wear something nice.. I am paying. And so you know, I felt like kissing you in the office when you were rendering those your stupid lines"

Five years Later and I'm still married to my Boss.. She doesn't even bring the Boss thing to the house, infact it ends at the office gate.

She's told me countlessly that she wants to quit because she can't stand me being insulted by my senior colleagues..

I told her never to think about it. Is it her insult?
The end....................
What's better than one millionaire? Two!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @spark92! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73