Loop - original story

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Sunny day. Big crowd. Open space, near the beach. The first thing you hear while entering the camp „Horus“ is „Wonderwall“ from Oasis played by a solid, cover band.

„God, I love that song.“
Everyone seemed to be in their buzzzed mode on. „Party never stops“ they screamed.
On first sight, atmosphere was amazing. Liquor was pouring in rivers, people were so friendly and everything was filled with laughter and best beats of hit music. Still, something here felt out of place.
„ Was it me?“ , No. I had a feeling like I have to be here. I couldn't say why. It was just logic in my head, almost like the one you have in your dreams where you rationalize the most senseless things. How strange. There was also a hunch something wasn't right here, exactly the one you have in your dreams just before you wake up. But I wasn't waking up.

image

„You seem lost.“, voice startled me from my daydreaming.
His big beard was the first thing that grabbed my attention. Black, long, streaked with gray hair which was suprising since he was in his late twenties.
„My name is Darryl“, he smiled at me, „I can tell that you just arrived. Why are you here?“
He caught me off guard: „ I dont know.“
Its not like I didn't wanna tell him. I swear to God, in that moment I really didn't know why am I here or have any recollection of how did I come here or even how did I find out about this place. But eventhough I just came here, everything seemed so familiar.
„ Come on. Grab a drink and meet everyone.“ , Darryl said as he pulled out his pipe out of the pocket. I was thrilled with his simplicity.
„Sure, why not.“, I replied.

We went to the beach bar. Three guys were sitting there looking like they have been drinking for hours now. They immediately gave me high-five when they saw me as if we already knew each other.
„Lets grab some shots.“, of course one of them proposed that.
„ They are not very bright.“, Darryl whispered to me, „but funny as hell.“ I smiled.
So we grabbed shots. And again. And again. One of the three pulled out a guitar and started playing some music. I found out they were a band, regular visitors of camp „Horus“. They were hillarious, you could just relax in their company.
„I knew you were gonna like them“, Darrly said victoriusly while smoking his pipe.
„Thanks for being my guide.“ I replied.
„ You looked like a damsel in distress before, who could miss that oportunity?“
I burst in laughter: „ I didn't look that lost!!“ I laughed while he teased me. I totally forgot about that hunch I had before, I was really having a great time.

image

More people gathered around us and around three band players which names I never got. Few drinks, lots of guitar playing and hundred laughs after it was getting dark. Time flew here. I started to feel sleepy and luckily there were hammocks all over the beach. I was actually looking forward to sleep below the stars while the waves of the ocean gently tuck me in. I settled in the hammock closest to the ocean and slowly closed my eyes eager to see what the new day is gonna bring.
…..
Sunny day. Big crowd. Open space near the beach. The first thing you hear is…wait. Its „Wonderwall“.
„I love this song.“, whait, what? I'm entering the camp Horus again. „When did I wake up?“
I clearly remember sleeping in hammock last night.
„Did I sleepwalk? I guess the liquor got to me even more than I thought.“ But I didnt feel hangover. I felt like I was in a deja vu.
„Party never stops“ I heard the screaming again.
The atmosphere was amazing like yesterday. Liquor was pouring, everything was filled with laughter and music. Actually, now that I come to think of it, everything is exactly the same as yesterday. Got that bad hunch again.
„You seem lost “ , It was Darryl again. I bet he's gonna put some clarity in my mind.
„You won't believe this, I must have drunkenly sleepwalked last night.“ I smiled nervously.
He started laughing hard: „ I thought you just arrived but it seems like you already experienced the magic of camp Horus.“
„What do you mean just arrived? Bar, band, lots of shots? Ring a bell?“
„You're funny“, he smiled, „my name is Darryl and if you want to repeat what you did last night, feel free to come at the bar.“ He pulled his pipe out of his pocket and walked away.

„What's happening? How does he not remember me? Is he on drugs? Am I? Day can't be repeating. Im not in some low budget comedy“, I looked nervously around myself just to realize that I'm the only one who looks freaked out right now. I tried to calm a little bit before going to the bar again. Darryl and the band were at the same place as I left them last night. When I arrived I recived the same high-five from the three players.
„Nice to see you again“ Darryl said.
„This is really the first time you see me? I asked nervously.
„ Well second, if we count earlier today“ , he laughed, „Look, you had a drink too many and mixed me up with someone, its not a big deal. Happens every day here.“
I smiled at the choice of his words.
„Why are you here?“ he asked.
„Do you really not remember hanging with me yesterday?“ … I could see the blank face expression he made so I just embarrasingly walked away without waiting for the answer. He couldn't give me one. At least not one that that I wanted to hear.
What's going on? What is this place? Everyone seems to be having the time of their life and I'm just wandering around like an idiot and pretending to be the smartest one here. Maybe I really did have one drink too many yesterday. Thats not so crazy, I do like my tequillas. Maybe Darryl is right. Hour of brainstorming later, I decided to take that chance much rather than the alternative.
I came back to the bar just to find them again.
„I'm sorry for just leaving like that. You're right. I got a little tipsy and that's the only explanation there is.“
„Are you sure?“ he asked suspiciously.
„Yes, I'm sure. And because od that I will buy you drinks.“ It had to be all in my head, so I will just try to have a good time and tommorow will prove how stupid I was.

image


Today is gonna be the day that they' re gonna throw it back to you
By now you should've somehow realize what you gonna do…
„Wonderwall“ echoed. Sunny day. Big crowd. Open space near the beach. I'm entering the camp „Horus“. You have got to be kidding me!! What is happening here? I tried so hard yesterday to convince myself that it was all in my head, but how can I play ignorant anymore?

I'm obviously repeating the same day all over again. But how is that possible? I had so many questions mumbling in my head when I hear the same familiar voice.
„You seem lost.“ Darryl appeared.
I didn't have the strenght in me to keep in cool. „Whats happening? What day is it today? This isn't real, it can't be.“
„Relax, Skylar“ he responded.
What he said stroke me like a lightning. I frooze for a moment: „ I never told you my name.“
„Why are you here Skylar?“ he asked with a new depth in his voice that I hadn't hear before.

I started sweating, chills were passing through my spine.
„I don't know!“ I said nervously with a cleary elevated voice.
„You need to remember.“
„Remember what, what are you talking about?“ My heart started to race, I felt dizzynes, I just needed to get away from all of this. So, if I can't escape this day, at least I can try to escape this place. I started marching towards the exit as if that was the last thing in the world that I needed to do. There was a little pathway that lead from Horus to God knows where, anywhere is better. I walked and I walked, still feeling dizzy but with a newgained hope in my mind. At the end of the road there was a turn to the left. I turned to the lelf and I couldn't believe what I saw….
Entrance to the camp „Horus“ again. I just stood there feeling helpless. Tears came to my eyes, my hands began to shake abnormally as if my body couldn't handle that amount of shock. I entered again, but this time I payed attention to all the people around me. They were all the same, with big goofy smiles and a keg of bear in their blood. But they looked blank. The kind of blank that suggested that they weren't real. Like in a dream.
And then I saw him in the distance but still close enough to know that he was the only real thing I layed my eyes upon. He stood there looking at me. Covered in blood. It was all overwhealming, I could see nothing but black in front of my eyes anymore.
…..
I woke up feeling confused on a couch in a office. There was Darryl sitting opposite of me. Dr. Darryl Glassman.
„Why are you here?“ he looked at me meaningfully.
„I'm here because I killed someone.“
It was two years ago. There was a music festival taking place in a city near by. Of course I wanted to go with my friends. We had a blast. Untill one night things took out of hand. I went to have a walk on the beach alone and there I run into him; my new nightmare. It was in selfdefence, before I can remember anything there was a rock, blood all over my hands and his head. After that night, I had no recollection of what had happened. This memory took place so deep in my subcionse that I had no other choice than to visit hypnotist; Darryl Glassman to help me remember.
During the incident, there was a song playing.

„Wonderwall“ from Oasis. Fucking hate that song.


I really hope you managed to read the entire story, and that you didn't regret it. :)

Image sources:

https://www.istockphoto.com/photos/beach-party
Pinterest
http://losangeles.carpediem.cd/events/4356534-beach-bonfire-at-dockweiler-state-beach/

Sort:  

Jesam ti već rekla da nisi normalan? Ti nisi noooormalan...
This is a true gem. Fantastic. It reminded me of a song "Hotel California" up until the very end when you kicked me from my seat... again...
The best stories for me are those who manage to get an emotion out of me, some kind of reaction, and a surprise or twist that makes me open my eyes and drop my jaw is the best. I think you've made a fan...

Thanks for the compliments. It must be a good story when it includes drinking :)

Best post ever :) I enjoyed it

Thank you. Glad to hear it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51