The Faun - a digital sketchsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story8 years ago (edited)

 

Having watched "Fantastic Beasts" and "Miss Peregrine" and also anticipating the upcoming "Beauty and the Beast", I was inspired to start drawing mythical creatures. I started this sketch inspired by the Greek mythological creature "The Faun" or in Greek, "Phaunos". 


According to Wikipedia they are half human half goat creatures that live in the woods, and can either help or hinder humans passing by.  Ancient roman mythology referred to a god named "Fanus". The Greek god "Pan" and goddess named "Fauna" were also part of the goat people. 


This is my interpretation of the character, dressed in a smart suit and blending into a modern day society, being one of the last survivors of his race. It took me about a week to draw after work in a program called "Mischief". I hope you guys enjoy it:)

Sort:  

There's a very strange look to that man.

Seeing him makes me feel as though I've been drinking scotch. I don't drink scotch or any alcohol anymore. Alcohol is the devil.

Ha ha. Strange is good. Strange is what I was going for:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59139.97
ETH 2676.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44