I've lost 191 pounds since January First. 400 To 209, no longer obese.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago

This is me at the beginning of January. Not even my highest weight.
In July of 2015 I broke my leg and was in the hospital, they did a weight on me. I was 497 pounds. That is probably very near my highest. I lost the first 100 pounds by still eating like crap (pizza every day and still drinking 2 liters of coke + a day) But I was eating less and in the year and a half till January of 2017 I lost.

I have gone from a 6xl shirt that I could just barely fit in, to an XL and they are starting to get a bit loose.
The first time I could buy a tshirt at walmart for $4 instead of paying DXL $45 I nearly cried in the parking lot....

This is me Yesterday. 209 pounds. Making it 191 for the year and 288 total. That moves me from obese to overweight for the first time in probably 20 years. Still along way to go, I should be somewhere around 170. But that is several months away.

The beginning of the year I could hardly make it to the end of the block and back to the house. I would get terrible shin splints. I eventually worked it up to a mile (taking over 25 minutes) and then added in a second mile at night. Now I walk 2 to 3 miles in the morning before work every day (under 16 min miles), I do a minimum of 10,000 steps a day.

Once I hit 350 pounds, I joind a gym. Light weight lifting and some time on the stationary bike to start out. Now I lift everyday, not big, just trying to maintain and avoid too much muscle loss. Along with 25 minutes on the stationary bike at a very high pace. Took some time to build up to it.

Once I hit 300 I started riding my bike on the street. Again, slow to start, working up to 8 miles a day.

Everyone out there doing the struggle, keep at it. Anyone thinking of starting, please please do. The hardest part is taking the first steps. Once you see some results, its very very easy to keep with it.

Remember to do it for yourself and no one else.

Be kind, I know this is the internet, and am accepting there will be negative comments. But at least shoot for funny, and don't be a jerk and PM negativity to me like happened the last time I made a post :)

Sort:  

Woff, woff!

Hello @sheikh.farooq, We have met 18 times already!

I'm a guide dog living in KR community. I can see that you want to contribute to KR community and communicate with other Korean Steemians. I really appreciate it and I'd be more than happy to help.

KR tag is used mainly by Koreans, but we give warm welcome to anyone who wish to use it. I'm here to give you some advice so that your post can be viewed by many more Koreans. I'm a guide dog after all and that's what I do!

Tips:

  • If you're not comfortable to write in Korean, I highly recommend you write your post in English rather than using Google Translate.
    Unfortunately, Google Translate is terrible at translating English into Korean. You may think you wrote in perfect Korean, but what KR Steemians read is gibberish. Sorry, even Koreans can't understand your post written in Google-Translated Korean.
  • So, here's what might happen afterward. Your Google-Translated post might be mistaken as a spam so that whales could downvote your post. Yikes! I hope that wouldn't happen to you.
  • If your post is not relevant to Korea, not even vaguely, but you still use KR tag, Whales could think it as a spam and downvote your post. Double yikes!
  • If your post is somebody else's work(that is, plagiarism), then you'll definitely get downvotes.
  • If you keep abusing tags, you may be considered as a spammer. It may result to put you into the blacklist. Oops!

I sincerely hope that you enjoy Steemit without getting downvotes. Because Steemit is a wonderful place. See? Korean Steemians are kind enough to raise a guide dog(that's me) to help you!

Woff, woff! 🐶

You are the perfect example of perseverance!!

You should be extremely proud of your achievements to date, this just goes to prove how people can change their own lives through consistency and determination. Everybody needs to take responsibility for their journey in life.

I have a few questions:
-Will the leftover skin tighten up over time or will this require some sort of surgery?
-Have you considered your next steps, ie: bodybuilding, sports etc.?

Good Job,

Ps,
I am following you and your journey.

Wow congrats on the big loss. I started at 239 on August first and now hovering around 205lbs. I mainly cut out sugar and started eating only organic meat from an amish farm, and fresh veges. Water was hard to get used to as an only beverage and I crave soda, but it's working so I am sticking to the restrictions I have imposed on myself.
Good luck in your continued journey to fitness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60728.44
ETH 2653.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59