Hobo Confessions #8 - Thou shalt not bow before the great Disney empire

in #story7 years ago (edited)

January 31st -

IMG_20170320_125954.jpg

CNN grates at me from the corner. John plays a zeppelin war game in the other. I'm just glad the time is passing. He drops me at McDonald's again. And the day transforms in my favor. I sit in Murphey's Arms Pub writing this, the diversity is intense. Ireland, Scotland, England, and more are represented here. I tried Del Taco, which is just better Taco Bell. I'd never go back. The woman in the pub shows me a picture of her friend, and he is "my twin." Pretty close actually. Kinda looks like Uncle Steve. I've walked almost the whole length of

IMG_20170320_130017.jpg

International Drive, which is basically one long shopping mall. The world is my food court. I finally saw a gator. In a cage, the size of my foot. It was adorable. I'm missing Lakewood, but I'm wondering if that was a little bit the point. I would like to live in many places at once. I don't want to live where it hurts to be outside. I love the people, but the actual geographical location BLOWS. Literally. Two blizzards after I left. Tampa atmosphere is my fave, Orlando is average but I've found some love for it. One more night with john.

jan 31st snip.png

Looking forward to being in Orlando Proper. Sweet Tomatoes is awesome! Veggie/vegan/gluten free salad/soup/pizza stuff buffet! Smashed. Too full. Bussed back. One more night.

Murphey's pub was hidden behind 17 t-shirt shops and a mini-golf course on International Drive (I-Drive from here on, and on every sign on the entire stretch of road). It was a source of sanity in this money trench, which lead to the all powerful Disney World. Murphey's had some nice TV's, and played all the major soccer games from around the world. Or football, or whatever. The one where they pretend they're hurt all the time.

Disney World is kind of a thing, so people from all over the globe go here. Which made for an interesting bar crowd. When I arrived, a retiree from Georgia sat at the bar of a young pudgy bartender from Ireland. Soon, we were beset on all sides by representatives from all of Europe.

Best of all, you could smoke inside, so I hid in the dark pub and rolled and watched soccer, hiding while the Evil Mouse's money machine pumped furiously on just outside in the sun bleached pavement.

IMG_20170131_200655.jpg

Del Taco deserves a major shout out. Please put these in Cleveland, I will go, I promise. Same goes for Sweet Tomatoes.

By the end of this day, John had stopped talking to me, for seemingly no reason. Maybe he had detected my lack of enthusiasm for him spouting about the jews. Just a few more hours of awkward silence lightly masked by CNN before I can leave Disney-fuck-ville.

Here are links to the confessions if you want to catch up! Follow along if you're enjoying, I would appreciate it greatly.

Hobo Confessions #1
Hobo Confessions #2
Hobo Confessions #3
Hobo Confessions #4
Hobo Confessions #5
Hobo Confessions #6
Hobo Confessions #7
Hobo Confessions #8 <-- You are here
Hobo Confessions #9
Hobo Confessions #10
Hobo Confessions #11
Hobo Confessions #12
Hobo Confessions #13
Hobo Confessions #14
Hobo Confessions #15
Hobo Confessions #16
Hobo Confessions #17
Hobo Confessions #18
Hobo Confessions #19
Hobo Confessions #20
Hobo Confessions #21
Hobo Confessions #22
Hobo Confessions #23
Hobo Confessions #24
Hobo Confessions #25
Hobo Confessions #26
Hobo Confessions #27

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62938.05
ETH 2552.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63