You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why We Left Our Church

in #story7 years ago

You echo a lot of the reasons why I haven't gone to church in many years. I'm at the point in my life where my faith is as firm as it's ever been... but at the same time I don't really feel "at home" at most churches. I sense the nearness of God more when I'm on a lake in a kayak early on a Sunday morning than sitting in a pew watching a worship team. And I'm not exactly an old guy either (36)! That's not to belittle what they're doing of course, because clearly it works for some people, and I've had friends become more interested in attending church because of the modern-style services. But I definitely miss the reverence and quiet pondering of the church services I grew up with, not to mention the beautifully arranged and deeply meaningful hymns.

Thank you for your post! It's great to see thoughtful pieces like this on social media.

Sort:  

Thank you for your most kind reply. I am TOTALLY with you in that I am nearest to God on a lake or river in a canoe or kayak. Canoeing and spending quiet time in nature is what frees my mind from worldly concerns. The outside noise is muted, and I feel that I can hear God's words speaking inside me. Friend, you just earned another follower!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64951.20
ETH 3557.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35