Henry Monde my short life and long death....Father and Son

in #story7 years ago

My sons lifeless eyes stare at me, I killed him, the fool of a boy.

I have never minded dying, God knows I have seen enough death to last me many lifetimes and I always thought that Luna would eventually kill me, but he was a fool and at the end and he deserved to die.

The fool had me, he was stronger and younger than me, I had the experience but he was just so fast and skilful, my heart could have exploded with pride, I was down and all he had to do was finish me quickly and I would have been gone.

The two lessons I had thought that had been hammered into his thick skull were to act quickly without mercy and remember that there is no more a dangerous creature than one that is wounded and cornered, Henry would have gutted me like a fish, suppose he was more like me than I cared to admit.

I was down and finished, but this fool paused, God only knows what went through his head, but at that moment I knew that he would be the destruction of house Monde, I could not allow myself to be killed and let him continue the house, I had a small dagger in my boot and with one quick move I had it out and sliced him from groin to sternum, his inards fell over me and for a moment I couldn't see, but it mattered not. I stood up lifting the hammer that he had chosen for the passing and I finished him, without a second thought.

There was a massive cheer in the arena, no one had expceted me to win, but all that I could hear was the sound of the crunch as I crushed my sons skull. Time froze and for a brief moment my life with my first born child crashed through my mind and threatened to engulf me. I remembered it all, his birth, his first hunt, his first animal kill and the images of him in battle as he slashed and hammered his way through any army filled my mind, but this was not the time for such thoughts, he was weak and he was gone, it was hard, but then so was this life.

The cheers in the arena slowed to silence, I stood up and looked up at the Judge, he looked down at this father and his dead son and in a loud voice declared the passing complete and with that final pronouncement the world faded and I fell unconscious to the ground....

Previous installments of the story

Part 1 - The death of Henry Monde
Part 2 - the judge


 

Thanks to @ryivhnn for his creativity and generosity in giving me this, check out his excellent posts.

Sort:  

Fascinating story! Tough and imaginative. :)

Thanks very much :-)

this was so powerful, really got to me despite it being very short. :)

Many thanks :-)

So the father is stronger, he won the battle wow. In those days life was so hard and short, I wonder what will happens next. Nice I resteemed it...

I don't think that I would have lasted in those times!

Thank you for the kind words and the resteem :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78