Christmas Story: when the home-made gingerbread house becomes your new path in life

in #story6 years ago

Life is all about experiments. You never know where you will end before you try it. I have always been a kind of girl who loves challenging myself. I am constantly interested in experiencing the limits of my own abilities in different areas. It is if somewhere within me lives a passionate explorer who never stops wondering in search of new achievements. Sometimes I would let this part of me go free and set myself to a new challenge what would be something I have never done before but wanted badly. Never stop if you think it will be hard, just make one step at a time and see where you will end. For the step I was about to take that winter there will be a huge road open for me but of course, I did not know it before I started it all. The gingerbread house you see in the picture below was my challenge for that time. All I wanted was to make it well without any prior experience. The story where it would lead me you are about to read.

gingerbreadhouse_by_sashagenji.jpg

There is one fact about me you should know - I love making presents and I absolutely love to do them with my own hands wherever possible. For me, when you spent time doing it, it is like putting a part of yourself in your creation what is much more interesting (although sometimes more difficult) than just go to the store and buy a thing you liked. Therefore, I always plan what I will give as presents long before the actual celebration date. So it was around August few years ago I came up with the idea that I want to build a gingerbread house for my husbands little sister.

gingerbreadhouse_by_sashagenji_7.jpg

To make it clear, that time I would bake some cookies but for sure not something even close to what I was about to start. So my first stop was a proper research - I guess that what you do when you do not know where to start, right? So I found a really nice recipe for a cookies that in very popular in Russia called “kozuli”. The beauty of this kind of a dought is that it can be stored for a long time up to several month and it even get better. I also researched how to do a proper construction - I was not an expert so I learned pretty much just through various web-portals I could find.

Armed with all this knowledge, the question was only in execution. I drew my first drawing for a gingerbread house, made a dough and even baked a sample to understand how it will come up when it is ready. It came good that inspired me to continue. “If I managed this far, I sure can go further” - I though and moved on with it.

gingerbreadhouse_by_sashagenji_2.jpg

Next 2 days I just fully emerged with a painting of cookies - the process that became my meditation. I could barely notice the time I spent on it and I was so happy the way it came. Since at that time I had not yet learned how to make dyes from natural ingredients (which I mastered much later), the house's decoration was made using organic dark chocolate and white icing.

gingerbreadhouse_by_sashagenji_8.jpg

gingerbreadhouse_by_sashagenji_3.jpg

gingerbreadhouse_by_sashagenji_4.jpg

Looking back, I would not say that was the best creation I have ever done, yet for me, it was a masterpiece. It had its "slips"- the roof and the walls would not fit fully the way they were supposed to, the so-called “windows” made of sugar syrup crystallized and was not transparent.At the same time for me, the most important thing was that I made it, that I went down this road and achieved something I wanted without delaying, without promising myself that I would do it when I have time. I just did it and that was my new frontier. The explorer inside me jumped with joy if as I concurred a mountain.

gingerbreadhouse_by_sashagenji_5.jpg

gingerbreadhouse_by_sashagenji_6.jpg

Although this house has become a personal challenge for me, at the same time it became my teacher. I used to learn from anything I do in life but this little house perhaps become a little gem for my self-discovery practices.

First, it taught me not be afraid to do what I have never done before. Given some time you can learn whatever you want whether it is a new process in the business, a new language or the other thing you might consider as difficult in the beginning. All it takes is time and your efforts. So now if I face any difficulties in life I always remember the lesson my first gingerbread house creation taught me - if you put enough time and efforts you’ll make it.

The second lesson learned that I do not know much about life at all. I would never think that my creation would open new life path for me but it did. The gingerbread house was a hit and shortly after I made it I start getting orders from people and it turned out to be a small business venture I have never thought it would ever be. With time I mastered the craft very well and was able to do much bigger and interesting constructions. Yet most important for me was the fact that I could use my creativity to turn a gingerbread dough into colorful boxes, pine trees, decorations and castles of my choice. A nice bonus from the Universe, which sometimes makes surprises where you do not expect them at all.

Wishing you the very best for upcoming Christmas.

With love,

Sasha Genji

@sashagenji_signiature_Steemit.jpg

Ecotrain.png

@ecotrain #ecotrain

I support @ecotrain project, which also use #ecotrain. I want to believe that more and more people will start to think about things that help to make the world a better place. (с)@ecotrain. I also hope that more and more writers on Steemit will support the movement started by @eco-alexand @icmultitudes . As I truly believe that we are one and helping others means you are helping yourself.

Click here to read more post from the passengers on the EcoTrain



You can read some of my other articles:

Hidden People: The Art of human invisible impact on the environment and future #3 EcoArt Series


(c) “Your world” by Liu Bolin, 2014
Everyone has their own routine. We drink coffee, we buy a newspaper, we drive cars to get to an office or a supermarket ... This is life as we know it. We got used to our comfort and stopped asking ourselves questions if it makes an impact on the life around. Few of us would really think how our day-to-day activities affect the world around us. The Chinese artist Liu Bolin uses his unusual art to draw attention to problems humanity has created through past decades, but still, tend to ignore.
READ MORE
Sort:  

Wow, what a beautifully made gingerbread house. And how fantastic that it turned into a little business.

You should see the others of my creations%) I guess gingerbread dought gives me freedom to do whatever I want and experiment a lot with different shapes and forms%)) In general I bet when you do something that you enjoy - it shows%) I can spent hours on each of my creations%) I guess like you can spent hours on photo shoting and identifying birds! Much love as always!

Image Source

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept and are willing to let us share your post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd to learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you have any questions regarding the project or nomination, please, let me know.

Hope to hear from you soon!

If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. Every day, three posts using this tag will be chosen by our curators to be resteemed. Good Luck!

Thank you for the honor, @m31. Of course I let you share my post!thank you for support!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 03:55:29
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

That post just made me hungry...

Yes, some of them does make you hungry. Just check @eco-alex's food posts - I am sure you will be more hungry from his posts when from mine. They always make my mouth watering%))) And besides sometimes you can have virtual cookies to help you out%) Please have one below (as a joke of cource% ))) SteemOn and all the best to you!

Image Source

Gorgeous gingerbread house... and it brings back some really great hand-crafted memories! When I was a kid, we made so many things by hand, especially around the holidays!

Hey, @geke. Thank you for such a great comment. I think hand-crafted gifts are the most precious one%)) What is why I love doing them%) I just check your latest post -'Twas the night before Christmas... steemit style is so awesome, I hope more people will read it and I THANK YOU for it as it became my inspiration for today so it is more hand-made things today%)) Just right on Christmas Ewe!

Image Source

Absolutely stunning creation!

Thank you @miniature-tiger for the compliment. I thank you for stopping by and commenting on my post!And thank you for such detailed explanation on Where is the growth coming from? And where does it go to? - that is very useful for people like me not really knowing much. Merry Christmas to you!
x_by_sashagenji copy copy copy (2).jpg

Incredible culinary art masterpiece. Thanks for sharing.

You've reminded me of the story Hansel and Gretel @sashagenji. Nice photo, do post @photocontests

Wooooow. This is very beautiful house. I wish I could photograph it for you.

Oh my, your ginger house is so pretty! With the roses decorations! I love it! Very magical! I was thinking about a realy big ginger bread house built in the lobby of a hotel where Alex and I were staying around christmas some time ago. I was wondering how the cook woukd have made these larfe sheets of cookie that formed the walls and who would eat all that afterwards. I could stand up straight in the doorway and Alex took a picture of me. It smelled so sweet inside, but was not decorated as lovely as yours. I love the roof tiles especially.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36