Freewrite Fiction: Heart over mind. No contest

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Carol had been looking for him for the past hour. She had been to all the lounges, salons and bars inside the resort. Then she had him paged from the lobby and settled in the lounge to wait. There she saw him across the floor, sitting in the cafe alone. sleeping? or drugs? NO! She hurried to him and called out "Simon!"
He looked up at her in silence as she sat down across him. "What did you drink Simon? Your face is all pasty?"
They had met 2 months previously. Jason was the owner of a small firm supplying made to order buttons and whatnots to the Stylers Co. where Carol was a designer. He was tall with an angular face and hooded eyes, not exactly handsome but his earnest smile changed his whole demeanor. After meeting 3-4 times at the store the had gone for lunch together. Simon was charming and sincere at the same time. Carol was so delighted that she agreed to a date.
At 35 years Carol had not yet had a serious relationship and had not planned on Jason being any different. One of the main reason she thought was her false leg. Carols left leg ended just below the knee- a childhood accident. She wore a state- of -the-art prosthetic and did not even limp when she walked, running though was still awkward.
Yesterday they had come resort for the weekend. Their first night together was extraordinarily good. And this was the morning after.
Simon said "You knew about my jail record."
Carol just nodded. "In the morning I was looking in your travel case for antiseptic- for the er.. scratches."
Carol almost blushed but stayed silent, Simon continued "I found the cutting you has kept. My photo is there with the others who were sentenced for 3 years."
"Yes! I knew about you. Internet is all knowing."
"Then you still.... and you did not even ask?"
Now Carol smiled, extending a hand to touch him. "I decided I could trust you."
"Oh Shit! " Simon exclaimed and pressed his palms to his eyes for a few seconds. Then finally reached a decision and took a deep breath before saying. "Carol I have never loved any person more than you. In all my life. I am con man. You were supposed to be my latest mark. Easy I thought with the limp and all. But. Now..."
Carols face change from calm to tense in moments. Eyebrows knitted and lips compressed she stopped herself as he gestured PLEASE.
Simon continued. "Listen, I know you have no reason to believe me but I do love you. That is why I have to come clean."
"All this was a set-up?"
"Yes!"
"Why me?""
"Your father's house is worth a couple of million and you are the only heir."
"You are a shit!"
"I love you Carol."
Now Carol was on the verge of crying with anger, grief and shock all mingled.
"Carol. There is a way we can.. I can get a chance. A pre-nup agreement. That even if the house comes to you or you sell it the money goes to you or your children."
"You still think I will marry you."
Now it was Simon's turn to smile. "I am sure you love me. If I am wrong, at-least I confessed and retreated. You will find happiness later. If I am right, and I am sure about this, I wanted you to accept what I am, so we both can be happy together."
Carol got up, turned away and said. "I hate con men."
Simon replied softly. "That is why I just gave up my job. No more surprises ever."
Carol walked a few steps then stopped and turned. "Smug Bastard! I have plans to sell that house. Father is moving to a facility in California."
Simon said nothing but there was a glimmer of hope in his eyes.
"Give me your phone and house keys. I will go through them with a fine toothed comb. Then we will see."
Simon handed over his phone and said. "I already have some clothes upstairs for a few days of hotel stay."
"What hotel? You are moving in with me. On probation!"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59163.23
ETH 2524.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51