I was a pissed barista...longest short shift at work, but I'm still alive and I'm in a better place in my quiet home.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

It always starts good at work because that's all I will accept. I make the atmosphere with my positive attitude, and I'm always trying to pull people from darkness.

If you ever worked retail, you know that customers can test you to your last nerve, but @runridefly has always found a way to make the best of every negative situation. It's just the way I'm wired.

So this Monday evening I found myself working extremely hard to keep the positive environment in the small Starbucks cafe.

A few minutes after walking onto the floor, an older homeless gentleman walks into the cafe and I can immediately feel the energy change in the store. A line of people follow him into the cafe and he starts speaking loud enough to interrupt every conversation in the cafe.

As he make his way to the register, where I'm standing, he starts haggling with me on the price of cup of coffee. I'm used to this because I work at the only coffee shop open late every evening in the downtown area.

I am willing to help him out on his coffee just to move him along, but I usually don't do this because we are always doing battle against all the homeless and drug addicts in the downtown area.

I am one of the most sympathetic to the hardship of others, but when they have no gratitude or continue to beg, I find myself less inclined to be helpful. I know this is a fellow human being, but he only cared to improve his personal situation. One of my strongest characteristics is that I'm a simple man, and I appreciate the humility of others that are in need.

For two hours I had to listen to and watch this older gentleman solicit every customer that walked in and out of the store. I don't like customers being bothered, because I dont like to be bothered.

The reason I don't interfere is because it's not my place. I'm the guy who can hold out the longest and I'm not the manager of the shift. In my thoughts, I told the shift manager around 10 times to call security and finally she heard me. What is so unusual about this evening is that she is usually very quick to give the disruptive the boot, but I think because he bought a small cup of coffee, he was afforded the right to empty the cafe.

I might sound like a big pussy, but I don't like being in such a negative space, and I'm more upset with my co-worker than the man who worked my last nerve. This is @runridefly, feeling good about talking it out. Thank you for reading my story.


This photograph of my son Daniel and I was taken just over a year ago by a local photographer. My eldest son is now 22 months old and I can't believe how fast time is flying by.

Sort:  

In 2014, 15 I was a contractor that did POS repair for Starbucks, among others. I have the ultimate respect for Starbucks employees and the hell they have to bear in their day to day grind in those stores. There's a lot of homeless in Vegas and they're bad enough, but I think the uppedy snobs were without a doubt, the worse. I mean it's just a damn cup of coffee, not life and death :)

@vegascomic, thank you my friend. I love the black cup of coffee customers. Steem On Friend!

Excellent post congratulations

@jlufer, thank you for reading.

Great story! I had a bad night myself trying to get to work! Im still hopeing my car starts in the morning t 630 am so i can also go home to my cozy apartment! Lol! Check it out! https://steemit.com/story/@karenmckersie/what-a-nightmare-trying-to-get-to-work-my-monday-rant-all-original-content-and-photos
And as you know from a previous blog i did , i could never work in retail! People drive me crazy lol! Im quite happy to work alone on the night shift! All the power to you! Thanks and steem on! ♨👍♨

I hope your car starts up. Thank you fir reading my story @karenmckersie

You stay safe lady ! ! !

Hello @runridefly,

It gives us pleasure to inform you that this post have been upvoted by Project Better.

The Mission of Project Better is to reward posts have many votes from Minnows but earn pennies.
Your payout is $0.066 before we vote on your post.

Learn more about the Project Better here! ,
Want to donate your voting power to support Project Better and earn curation rewards? Click Here!

We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!

~BETTER~

@better, thank you and I like your user name a lot.

it is a Bot . . . ; )

Great Post my friend @runridefly , Keep Steem On! :D

@levycore, thank you for the comment my friend. Steem On!

There's a reason why I no longer work in an industry where I have to deal with customers. I've had those jobs, and my impatience for stupidity and the feelings of entitlement, had me losing those jobs rather quickly. I actually have a lot of respect for people that work in that type of capacity. Dealing with customers and the general public on a regular basis. I just can't hack it lol

@blancobasura, it's a tough road for sure my good friend. Thank you for the comment.

You have the patience of a Saint!

@awgbibb, i wish. Thank you fir the comment. Steem On Friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61136.19
ETH 2969.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64