Chapter 1 of the Book - The Party

in #story7 years ago (edited)

It was a peaceful purple evening in the city of Surat. The birds were chirping and flying through the sky which made the evening even more beautiful. The sun was quietly setting without letting anyone know and the moon was about to take the front seat for the next few hours.

Parth messaged his best friend Rohan about the plans of going to a freshers' party thrown by the seniors of Nanalal Lankeshbhai Dave University shortly called as Nalanda University.

Rohan saw the message,"Hey bro, cming 2 d party?" from Parth and replied, "Nope. I m in d middle of wching a dcumntry on world wars."

Parth -  Cmon bro, i knw u r a geek bt dis is the only frshrs prty we r goin 2 hav.

Rohan - No prblm man! I really dnt want to come.

Parth gets pissed off by the geeky attitude of Rohan and dials his phone. Rohan seeing the call coming from Parth gets a little bit annoyed but nevertheless diverts his eyes from the monitor to his phone.

Seeing Parth's name, with a little bit of hesitation, he picks up the phone.

Parth - There will be girls bro! This is one of the best parties we will be going to have in our lives. C'mon bro, let's go.

Rohan - I am in the middle of watching how the World War 1 started and I am keen to see some interesting happenings about the second world war tonight. I am not really a party guy. Bro, you understand me better than anyone else. Please go to the party with Akash.

Parth - Bro, I am driving to your house in 15 minutes to pick you up. Be ready, otherwise I'll take you to the party no matter in what clothes you are.

On saying that Parth hangs up the phone and Rohan with no choice left starts getting ready for the party.

Rohan wears a t-shirt and a jeans. Although he is an avid reader, a geek from a very young age, he doesn't wear glasses and that's why sometimes he is called Geek without Glasses.

Rohan is all setup and ready in 10 minutes but Parth is not yet here. Rohan constantly keeps looking at his mobile as the time passes by.

After 25 minutes, Parth arrives in the lane of Rohan's house and screams his name. Rohan goes downstairs and quickly sits in the car and at the same time asking Parth about coming so late to pick him up for the party. Parth starts driving the car and begins justifying why he's late.

Parth - Bro! There was so much traffic on the way because the signals were not working properly and people were just going everywhere. Also, I mistakenly dropped my phone and it stopped working. At last, that piece of cheap electronics didn't start so I left it at home. You have your phone, right?

Rohan - Ya, I have mine just charged right now. Don't worry. Even if the traffic signals are working who follows them anyway? Everybody wants to go before everybody else. By the way you had an iPhone. It's not cheap.

Parth - Ya, ya! A fake iPhone. It impacts your personality dude. I told you when I bought it but you were happy with some simple Android.

Rohan - At least it won't stop working after falling.

Both of them giggled.

Rohan - Anyway, where's the party? At the college or somewhere else?

Parth - You don't know where the party is? Dude, come on! Everybody got the message. Bro! Come out of the world wars and put your eyes on something about party wars.

Rohan - You are always there with me for these kind of things so I don't have to worry, at least for parties.

Parth - Okay! Okay! It is at the Golden Crown Hotel but I don't know the exact way to go there. Our university comes along the route. After that, we have to see the location.

Rohan - Let me check it on my phone the exact location of Golden Crown Hotel. The battery is 3%. What? I have just charged it when I was waiting for you. It was 54% when you came to my house.

Parth - It happens many a times with cheap Androids. Anyway, check the exact route to the hotel otherwise we may have to roam around the whole city.

Rohan - Wait! I'm checking it. It's 3.2 kilometers from here. Take right from the next circle.

Parth - Okay. Then what?

Rohan - Shit man! My phone died. Yours is at your home. What the hell! 

Parth -  We'll ask somebody at the cross roads about the hotel address.

They both reached the party at around 8:34 PM which is an hour late. The venue looks amazing and they both come out of the car to enter the party.

Parth starts dancing and Rohan takes up a soft drink. While Rohan is standing at one of the drink counters, Parth is demonstrating his moves in the middle of the crowd. Well, that's how Parth is.

Parth signals Rohan to come and dance but he remains cemented where he is standing. Nevertheless, Parth enjoys the dance and Rohan takes a sip of a drink.

Meanwhile, a girl comes to get a drink and is in the orbit of where Rohan is standing. Upon seeing the girl, Rohan stood still. He didn't liked parties that much but still he is a boy who's interested in girls.

He was just in awe looking at that beautiful angel and wanted to have a chat with her.

The girl looking at Rohan gives an awkward smile and starts drinking her pina colada. Rohan is totally uncomfortable seeing a girl this beautiful.

After 20 seconds which felt like 2,000,000 seconds to Rohan, he said Hi to the girl. The girl said Hi too.

He said I'm Rohan and she said I am Anna. The conversation between them finally starts while Parth is dancing somewhere in the party.

Rohan: So, where are you from?

Anna: I am from the USA and came to India for studying Indian religions.

Rohan: Someone from the great America is interested in Indian religions. Wow! I am surprised.

Anna: (Chuckling a bit) I once read Bhagvad Gita and that really caught my brains off. I researched a little bit more about it and then I didn't know at what time I was totally into it. So I thought of pursuing it.

Rohan: Great! You must be knowing about Ramayana and Mahabharata, right?

Anna: Yes, but not in detail like you people. I know a little bit about Mahabharata and some of its battles.

Rohan: Good, the party is really...

Lights suddenly went off and there is a blackout in the party.

To be continued...

__

I have decided to write and publish a book here on Steemit and this is the first chapter of my book. This is an original and never published anywhere.

If this goes well, I'll think about different options.

Please let me know what you think about my idea of publishing a story online on Steemit instead of self publishing it which I was thinking before.

Also, comment down what you think about the story. It is an action/mystery/thriller kind of story.


Sort:  

Congratulations @rishit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi @ rishit, i am very glad on reading your story,you wrote an very interesting story here but at the movement of light off the story too off. okay no problem tell me personally what happened then? you will be a great upcoming writer in steemit world so d't forget me when you are in rich,i am following you, upvoting and resteeming this post
welcome to...

#Hug-challenge

Thank you so much @Kunani for your good words. It really means a lot.
Thank you again for resteeming and upvoting the story.

A big hug! :)

Congratulations @rishit! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72