8 hours without electricity !steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Today our city had no power for 8 whole hours. That is 8 hours that I didn't know what to do with myself. The city seemed so quite and for the first time I realized how beautiful yet irritated nature can be. For 8 long hours I heard 4 different bird species chirp and sing with no end in sight.

So the power went out at 9 and I immediately thought I don't need the power because I have a laptop. And Wifi would not be a problem. I will just use my mobile as a hotspot.

So I went to open my laptop feeling all badass and thinking it can not get any worse cause I got it all planned out. But the universe replied with a big ol' fat NO. My laptop started up and at the same time it notifies me that a power source is needed as it has only 12% battery life left.

I was devastated !Who wouldn't be ?

I spent at least 6 hours catching up on my napping (last napped in kindergarten) and the rest I spent thinking about new ideas which in my opinion is called investing in yourself.

It was the worst 8 hours of my life


What do you guys think ? Can you go 8 hours without electricity ? And if so what would you guys do ?

I would like to hear from fellow Steemians. Let me know down in the comments below.

Just to point out : I fractured my back while playing rugby and I have been on bedrest for a few months and only recently started to do my rehabilitation. So I can't as of yet go outside . I am glued to my bed

Richard
If you like my post

Sort:  

Welcome to the reality of 90% of the rest of the world. Billions of people are in this situation daily. now add not water and no food, and you will be living a full experience of earth reality....

Yes I know . I live in Africa and I understand the situation. It is only a problem to me because I fractured my back and I am on bedrest and can not do anything else

I am really sorry about your back. Context is important when you make a post that at first read looks so selfish.
I wish you fast healing and recovery...

Thank you. Yeah sorry I edited it in so people understand why I can not just go outside

Your way to plugged in if you can't go without electric. That was your chance to get outside and do something! You should plan what your going to do if the power goes down and doesn't come back on.

No, I recently fractured my back with sports so I am on bed rest for the next few months
@vrdad

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.97
ETH 3448.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67