Short Tell-tales: A Heart Crushed By A Crush; Pt 4

in #story6 years ago

Broken Heart: Pixabay


...continued from part-1, part-2 and part-3


James got home after leaving the restaurant. Not sure of how he felt within, he resolved to find out one way or the other, if Anna was seeing someone or Steven in particular.

The following day was Saturday, and James in a high state of curiosity, called four guys from work whom he knew were loud mouthed, and jokingly asked if they knew who Anna was dating.

Strangely, none of the four guys could really tell; as they didn't know. Despite their all-knowing skills at the office which involved gossips.

James even tried with Brian. And still, not even Brian, who has been at the company longer than Anna even had an incline.

“Mehn, that chic is weird, bro”, Brian was saying over the phone, when James called him to ask.

“I asked her out two months after she joined the company and she told she wasn't interested in a relationship”

“Nine months after, I made the move again. Still same story”, Brian added.

“I just assumed she was either seeing someone already or she was recovering from a bad relationship or something.”

“Anyway, she's been at the company for almost two years now. Maybe you can try to put the moves on her and see for yourself.”

“I've got to go James. I’m with Stella at the moment. We want to do some early Saturday shopping. Talk later, man”, Brian said

“Alright, Brian. See you at our spot later”, James said and then ended the call.

It soon dawned on James that no one really knew a damn thing about Anna’s personal life, at the office.

He decided to wait till Anna resumed work from her leave, before he'd stylishly quiz her.

“Yea, that’s the only alternative”, he said to himself.

“I just have to play along till I win her heart. I just hope that Steven doesn't beat me to it though”, he concluded.

The rest of the Saturday went the usual way for James. He dropped his clothes at the laundry and visited the carwash.

Later in the day, he caught up with Brian, at their usual lounge for football games.

While seeing a game, Brian opened up to James. “I'm going to propose to Stella tomorrow evening, Jay.”

“After our church service tomorrow, we’d go see a movie at the cinema. And I've made plans with the guys there. My proposal would pop up on the screen, and then I’d out the ring”, Brian said.

“I'm certain she’s the one, James. And I've been thinking of it for some weeks now. There's no point in delaying.” Brian added

“You are my closest friend from work, James. So what do you think?” Brian asked.

“What do I think?” James repeated the question he was just asked, while laughing.

“Dude, you and Stella are perfect for each other. You should have proposed six months ago, Brian.” James added.

Now, it was Brian’s turn to laugh at James’ statement. He knew James had a point. He and Stella had been dating for about two years now.

Brian had told James how he met Stella, two weeks after he joined the Lancelot Engineering company.

He and Brian had hit it off as buddies immediately they saw each other, and they've remained quite close ever since.

Brian told him that he met Stella when she first visited the Lancelot company from her bank, in order to rectify some accounting issues with the company. Stella’s bank manages the company’s accounts.

And two years after they first met, Brian was planning of marriage. How life works, he thought.

“Congrats Brian. I'm really happy for you.”

“Stella is the real deal, buddy. Don't screw it up. And I'm going to be at the cinema for sure, to kick your ass in case you screw the proposal up.” James said.

Brian now laughed loudly. An act which elicited unfriendly jibes from guys around who were also watching the football game in the lounge.

James smiled and stared ahead at the game showing on the big screen in front of them. He was, however, deep in thought about no other person but; Anna.

Would he someday propose to Anna, and she'd say “Yes, I will?”

He smiled at how he had so quickly reverted back to Anna just then, when he should instead be focused on the Brian and Stella moment.

He decided to shove the thought of Anna aside, and both men went on to enjoy the football game.


Thank you for your time and for reading.
If you found this interesting, then kindly UPVOTE, RESTEEM and FOLLOW @rickie, for more.


DQmcGTgE9ztQ7QmWESyE7uVqLrUqfbAa1fsTCod6dmsFYjP_2.gif



@rickie

Sort:  

Part 5 plssssss😫😫😫😫
This story is so interesting. I can't hold my horses.
So much suspense.
How is James's proposal to Anna going to turn out?

Lolz......I wouldn't want to spoil the suspense for you @enoch158. I'm glad you've been following though. The whole suspense would soon unfold, buddy. Just wait-for-it. Thanks for reading.

As I read this I feel like Anna is someone I know 😁😁😁

Lolz......Your kind of specie, I suppose? Thanks for reading @zizymena

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62914.22
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88