Short Story - The Day the Sun Didn’t Come Up

in #story6 years ago (edited)

It’s not easy being the neighborhood’s greatest kid gumshoe, but someone has to do the job. My job. The name’s Molly and I am at the peak of my game at the great ole’ age of three…and a half. I solved many great criminal mysteries lately such as The Case of the Missing Tooth Brush and Who Stole the Cookie from the Cookie Jar Case, but none of that prepared me for what was to come next. I recall it just like it was yesterday simply because…It was yesterday. It happened something like this…

The Day the Sun Didn’t Come Up

pexels-photo-322070.jpeg

Time: Sometime between being outside and noticing my sippy-cup was empty
Location: Bed
Crime: Missing Sun

It’s been a long day. That is all I could repeat in my head as my eyes blinked open and closed as I slowly surrendered to sleep. Open. Closed. Open. Closed. Open. Closed. My eyes slowly peeked back open when I noticed the visions of my yellow and lilac room were replaced with a less saturated scene, everything was dark. Where has the light gone? I jolted up from my laying position and glanced around the room. I inventoried my room over and over as if recited, “Bed, floor, doll house, toybox, and closet. Bed, floor, doll house, toybox, and closet. Bed, Floor….” Everything was dull and bland. Even the yellow stencils on the wall saying “Molly’s Room” seemed lifeless with a colorless doom.

“Wait!” I finally stopped my mind of stupid ranting and panic. “I’m a detective for crying out loud.” It felt odd talking to my self but I had to snap myself out of a state of nonsense.

“Okay,” I muttered to myself to organize my thoughts of chaos. So, what foul scoundrel would pull such a caper? “The sun. The sun! For crying out loud! The sun was…missing!” I said with more of a moderate tone. I only have questions and not a single answer, but one thing I knew I had to do was investigate. With the room so dark, I squinted my eyes to focus to find my usual investigation and interrogation instruments: my flashlight and my memo pad. What is an interrogation without a flashlight and what is a reporter without their notepad of some sort? The answer is simple...Not a good detective!

Still squinting I could only see one character near me. All I can make out is circles…brown circles. “Oh!” I said with a sudden burst, that shape could be no one other than Oscar! So with that said I slowly descended from my mountainous bed and headed my way to the middle of the open floor.

Time: Ten minutes after waking
Location: Middle of the floor
Suspect #1: Oscar the Bear

The room…slightly chilly. My pacifier hangs slightly out the left side of my mouth. I am not amused by this situation. My target is the one named Oscar, but to me, he is my beloved teddy bear. My eyes adjusted to the room that has now turned into a dark tinted grayscale scene, everything dimmed down except the middle of the open floor. There was a vision of black, white, gray, and brown. Oscar's faux fur surrounded his body like ice on a mountain. Okay, I know that was a terrible metaphor, but cut me some slack…I’m only three and a half. Oscar had the cutest black nose, honey-brown button eyes, and the warmest grin a yarn could give a bear. Oscar is my best friend, but for right now…He is my first suspect.

“Molly!” Oscar said with great joy as I slowly approached him.

“Oscar…” I said with a questioning slur “…I have a few questions” as these words left my mouth, I pulled out my notepad and flashlight and shined it over Oscar’s perfectly round head.

“Molly…what’s going on?” I could see the hint of shock, fear, and curiosity mixed with his facial expression.

“As you can tell Oscar…the sun is missing and someone did a good get-away with it. What do you know about this?!” I said with force to make sure I made a strong point.

“No Molly, I swear I haven’t seen any fishy activity tonight.” Oscar backed up with great shock and fear.

“Where were you when I woke up?” I pushed forward with my interrogation.

“I was just sitting here making sure you were ok,” he said with an honest face

“Aw, that is so…I mean…If you didn’t do it then who did? Who did it Winnie the Pooh!?” I did my final question with an obvious anger.

Oscar took a deep breathe, “I find that very offensive you know…but to answer your question…I did hear the Barbie dolls making tons of noise at the dollhouse.” Oscar pointed to the left side of my room.

“Oscar, I believe you,” I said full heartily, honestly Oscar wouldn’t harm a fly or do anything to harm me. “Well I need a sharp kid like you, mind joining me and be my Watson to my Sherlock Holmes?” I walked up to Oscar and pat him on his back.

Oscar stood still for a moment and thought about his decision. “Of course I’ll join you.” His yarn mouth formed a smile.

That moment I knew this heist was bigger than what I could even comprehend. With that thought, I grabbed my little flashlight, my memo pad, and pulled Oscar by the arm and towards the Dollhouse.

Time: Shortly after interrogation of Oscar
Location: Dollhouse
Suspect #2: The Barbies

Oscar and I slowly strolled to the dollhouse on the other side of the room. When I squint my eyes I could see the shadows of the four plastic dolls sitting inside the house. The suspects for this location are Barbie B, Barbie Q, Barbie S, and Barbie A. I knew we were drawing near as I hear cackling and the frequent “Oh my god’s”

“Oscar, you’ll patrol outside the house just in case something happens, I know how to deal with these characters.” Oscar nodded in agreement as I made my way directly in front of the house. I cleared my throat and opened the dollhouse.

“Like Oh my god Barbie B., Look its Molly” Barbie S. screamed out

“Oh my god, have you ever heard of privacy” Barbie Q shouted afterward …or so I think it was Barbie Q.

“Girls, Molly is cool” I could hear Barbie A stick up for me.

“Ladies…Ladies, I just have a few questions” I cut their chatter off, “As you guys can see the Sun is missing…”

“So what?!” Barbie S. cut me off.

“What do you guys know” I continued on ignoring Barbie S’s statement.

They all glared at me then continued gossiping, “So O.M.G. you know how I am totally a dentist? Well, guess who came in to get a checkup…KEN!” Barbie B. said as many squeals formed afterward. I just sat down and sighed. “Well as you girls know, I Barbie Q, am I dog walker and as I took the dogs out for a walk…guess who I ran into?” I just stared in frustration and mouthed the words, Ken, as a second later Barbie Q yells out, “Ken!” which was followed once again with squeals. So this went on for a good five minutes, except Barbie S. is a teacher who ran into Ken at the teacher’s lounge, and Barbie A. is a doctor who ended up giving surgery to Ken. Then after Barbie A. says “Plastic Surgery” everyone is in a laughing uproar. Personally, I couldn’t take it anymore and simply stood up, closed the house, and turn to walk to Oscar.

“Psst!” I heard a small voice try to get my attention and I turned around to see Barbie A. at a window.

“What is it Barbie?” I asked curiously.

“Okay…the only thing I know is…I saw Dolly suspiciously hanging out at the toy box, which seemed a bit odd.” She whispers.

“Dolly…at the toy box?” I questioned, Dolly was one of my close friends and favorite toys.

“I saw her over there, not too long ago…that should be enough info to continue your investigation.” Barbie added.

“Thanks a mill, Barb.” I said with a smile as she cleared her throat.

“Hey, in return can you find the funds to support a better hospital?” she said to me concerned.

I simply nodded my head and said, “I can sure try.” She smiled and mouthed the words ‘Thank you’ or so I think. I casually walked up to Oscar on patrol.

“Find out anything Molly?” He asked me.

“Just one thing, and that we have a certain doll to meet in a toybox.” I said walking towards the toy box.

“Wow, what’s Dolly doing at the toy box???” Oscar quickly asked.

“Who said it was Dolly!” I was slightly angry he jumped to conclusions…even though they were dead on.

Time: Not too long after leaving the Dollhouse
Location: The Toybox
Suspect #3: Dolly…the Doll

Now that I understand completely why the Barbies are absolutely no help, I had to go with there only helpful observation and check out the toy box. The toy box is not a simple rectangular prism of fun and toys; the toybox is a place where all the riff-raff tends to gravitate towards.

A few steps from the box I turned my head slightly, simply glancing at Oscar and utter the words “Why would Dolly come to a place like this?”

“I have no idea,” he answers honestly “, but nevertheless she is an adventurous soul and could be working undercover?”

Oscar was always the optimistic, “Still, this place is so out of character for her…” I start to pause as I saw the toy box suddenly staring at me with invisible eyes. “Here we go,” I said with a slightly shallow breathe as I opened the toy box to rest my eyes on a sea of forgotten toys and memories.

I managed to focus a little more to see red yarn peeking up from underneath random animal plush I’ve collected throughout the years. They stay in the toy box because they don’t have much of a personality. Slowly approaching the red yarn, I slowly tugged the item lose and lifted it into the air.

“OUCH!” The item was Dolly herself, so the rumors were true.

“Dolly! What are you doing in here?” I simultaneously pulled out my flashlight as Oscar held my memo pad.

“Awe kid! I was just exploring the depths of the toy box…” she said with her usual New Jersey like colloquial…even though Dolly was made in and bought in Michigan, at our local dollar store.

“Dolly, what do you know about the sun?” I slide my right eyebrow up.

“It’s big, bright, and yellow. Sheesh, kid, I go away on one trip and you forget what the sun is?” Dolly looks at me confused as she slowly looks at a window and doesn’t see the sun.

“Notice anything in particular…well missing?!” I said frantically.

“Whoa. Whoa. Whoa. You don’t think I had anything to do with this? Like I say I was in the toy box all this time.” She pleaded

Well, that is a really good alibi. “Do you have any idea who could be responsible?” I held out for a final stretch of hope.

Dolly took a long silent pause to think about the characters she’s met around the area and the situation. Everything felt as if it was going slow motion; I was only able to hear the ticking of the clock in the room…sucks I can’t tell time. My train of random thoughts stopped trailing once I heard the familiar sound of someone taking in air to talk. “The only suspect left is Jack…” Dolly finally spoke up and can tell she was studying my face.

“Ja…Ja….Jack?” I stuttered. “Jack and his…box?” I wanted to scream, I thought I threw Jack in the far corner of my closet to never lay my eyes on his evil face again. Now I must face Jack! How could this be happening?

“Sorry kiddo, he’s the only real suspect left…” Dolly said with such confidence.

“Well, you will have to tag along,” I said to Dolly then turned to my left to look at Oscar. “Why have you been so quiet?” I glared at him writing in the notepad.

Oscar slowly smiled in embarrassment, “I was trying to write down all the clues…but then I realized I don’t know how to write” he laughed a little…I would of join but this was no laughing matter.

“Oscar.” I paused, “Oscar grab the stuff and let’s go we have a certain someone who lives in a certain box to meet up with.” I then turned to Dolly and smiled, “Let’s go!”

We were off to the darkest closet known to children. My closet.

Time: Later after Dolly cleared her name
Location: The Closet
Suspect #4: The always creepy Jack, and his prison Box

Even with Oscar’s protection to my left and the courageous Dolly to my right…I felt absolutely mortified to enter the dark silent closet. This was just no ordinary dark indention of my room, but it was the place where Jack and his box shaped home of evil resided. This fear was strong, but as my neighborhoods top gumshoe, I had to face on; I had to face the music. In my case I could literally hear the music I had to face. The familiar sounds of Duh Duh-Duh Duh Duh-Duh-Duh…filled the dark lit closet.

“Dolly can you use the flashlight to shine some light” I cocked my head to the right to see her poorly lit red yarn hair.

“No’s problem kid” all of sudden the closet came to life. Clothes of all sorts hung high above us on vibrant colorful hangers, and boxes were at our reach at the bottom. It was refreshing to see some color again. I find my mind thinking of the warmth of the sun and distant memories of being out in the sun. The vibrant colors fill my mind of the smell of the many floors in fields and the small bouquet I would pick for my mother. The creepy music slowly starts playing again, and sadly snapped me out of my comforting false sense of reality.

“Where is that coming from?” Oscar stepped forward towards the back corner of the closet and disappeared behind a box.

“Oscar...” I said with a sudden quietness. Where has he gone?

Silence filled the closet once again. The oddest part was the music…had….stopped…without a second to spare, “AH!” Oscar screamed as I froze still.

“Oscar!” I said out loud, afraid. Dolly just looked at me and started to pace towards behind the box, until she herself disappeared behind that box. “Dolly!”

I was alone and I didn’t know what to do about. The once happy vibrant closet once again turned into a colorless insignificant scene. I felt just like my eye color, true blue. I ran my fingers through my curly dark blonde hair for comfort…but I couldn’t find any. In my entire career I have never failed, until this very moment. Fears freezing me like a stone, helpless to my friends in need. “Friends,” I thought aloud in my head. How could I be so selfish to not remember my friends were in need?! Suddenly I stood up and dried my eyes. Light still shined from behind the box so I found my way. “Left. Right. Left. Right.” I kept reminding myself how to walk. It was time to face my fears and face the music.

I rounded the cardboard box to see a smaller box in the far corner. No signs of my friends. Was I too late?

“MOLLY!” I heard Oscar cry out from overhead, and I looked up to see him tied up with shoelaces and suspending from the lowest horizontally bar meant for clothing hangers.

“MOLLY!” I looked to my right at the big cardboard box and heard Dolly inside of it. “Don’t worry about me kiddo, I’ll crawl myself out of this one!” Dolly said with such great confidence. The confidence I wish I had at this very moment. My thoughts of confidence were stopped when the silence in the room replaced with the creepy music, as I slowly turned towards the smaller box in the corner. Time felt as if it slowed down, as if within an action movie. I knew what was going to happen next.

POP. All of a sudden I found a new found courage as I stepped slowly towards the box as jacks popped out of the box and stared blankly into my eyes. His narrow eyes focused past his pointed nose and onto my eyes. Everything seemed black and white, all except for his purple and green jester’s hat.

“Molly. I’ve been expecting you” he said in such a dark low tone that it gave me chills down my spine.

“I can’t say the same Jack.” I said through my smile.

“I heard from Winnie the Pooh over there, you had some questions?” He asked with the most sincere voice he could gather at the moment. I could also hear the groan of insult suspended above us.

“Where is the sun?!” I said with sudden anger, “I know you had something to do with it!”

“The sun? This is about the missing sun?” he gazed at me, “I had nothing to do with the sun, for I am banished to the closet.”

“And what a more perfect revenge!” I stopped what he was going to say next. “You were banished into this dark corner so now you want everybody else to suffer with you! It is the perfect motive.”

“You have no proof copper!” he extended his spring higher and closer to my face. I have to admit I was scared. Scared…would be the most underestimated statement I have made in my entire life.

“I’m taking you in! I have enough proof hanging over your head!” I shouted with excitement.

“Oh no, please, take your time.” Oscar hung still groaning.

“Try to stop me” Jack cut in.

I have no idea if it was sudden courage, stupidity, or anger but I managed to place my right hand on Jack’s forehead and smiled.

“Oh you wouldn’t” Jack’s evil grin turned into a worried frown.

I just continued to smile as I forced Jack’s head back into his box, “Goodbye Jack” I whispered as I slammed the top of the box shut. I did it!

Without seconds to spare Oscar came crashing to the ground. I looked up to see Dolly untied Oscar free. “Dolly?” I swear she was just in the box.

“I told you not to worry about me kid. I am an adventurer remembers?” Dolly said as I turned my direction to a teddy bear in distressed.

“Let’s not do this again!” Oscar stood up groaning…as usual.

“Oh come here!” I chased after him as he ran out of the closet and tackled him a hug. Dolly slowly followed with the flashlight.

“So this is how it ends. Me… just sitting here with my two good friends, not knowing if the sun will return or not.” I thought aloud as Dolly and Oscar just sat down to take a breather.

“Are there any other suspects…I mean there has to be…” I was suddenly cut off as my front door swung open and a giant shadow cast overhead. “How did Jack get so big!” was my first thought. The giant took in a breathe air and sighed.

Time: After my victory
Location: Floor near the bed
Suspect #5: Mysterious shadow

“Molly!” The familiar voice said, “What are you doing up!” I froze as I looked up at the familiar person and all fear left me.

“What are you talking about mom? I didn’t go to sleep!” I explained. I just knew I didn’t go to sleep.

“Aw, Sweetie you’ve been sleeping for five hours before you probably woke up.” She suddenly picked me up and tucked me into bed.

“Mom?” I spoke softly, “Where is the sun?” I was wondering why she wasn’t as concerned as I was!

She just smiled as she tucked in Oscar right next to me, turned off the flashlight, put up my memo pad back on my nightstand, and put Dolly back in the toy box. “There is no sun at night time silly.” She sat next down to me and explained the sun a bit more to me. She finally finished explaining to me as she got up, gave me a goodnight kiss, and stood by my open door. “Goodnight Molly.” she said closing the door, but leaving a little opening.

So I guess the sun wasn’t missing after all, and that Jack was innocent…but he still gave me the creeps! I guess this actually has nothing to do with the missing sun, but more about finally facing my fears with the help of my friends. Yawning, I look around the room at the empty floor, the dollhouse with shadows of dolls gossiping, the toy box, and the closet. I turned to my side to look at Oscar lying lifeless. “Goodnight Oscar. You’re a lot quieter in real life then my imagination” I laughed as drifted into sleep.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61046.72
ETH 2926.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69