In All Fairness, I need a Harley Davidson. Only One!

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Fatboy.jpg

The one I want!

I've been working on my wife now for years, trying to whittle her down, laying the groundwork for the day I spring it upon her that it is time for me to buy a Harley Davidson. I've had a lifelong dream of owning three big-boy toys and have already accomplished two of them... a sailboat and a motor home. Now that I'm two-for-three, it's about time to move on it... the trifecta. It's time for the hat trick... the Harley!

It's almost every man's (and some women's) dream that has ever owned a motorcycle to one day own a Harley Davidson. It is that grassroots passion that many of us dream about. It's about freedom and the self-expression that transcends all cultures. We are adventure-seeking individuals whom aspire to the values that Harley-Davidson stands for – independence, authenticity and the passion for being on the open road. Okay... I live on an island and open roads here don't exist, but what the hell. I can still have one, can't I?

IMG_7525.JPG

Charlie's Two Scooters

This morning as we were readying to leave parking lot, my neighbor Charlie was out walking his dog. Charlie was also stationed here on Guam at the same time I was back in the late '70's and has been here ever since. He owns TWO Harley's and they are parked flanking his front door of his ground floor condo. Anyway, as he passed by our car he stopped to chat. He had just got back from visiting his relatives in Tennessee and was telling me how enjoyable it was to get out on the road and do some riding during the cool Spring mornings when the temperatures were in the mid 60's. I said "Wait! You have a scooter (Harley) there in Tennessee?" and he replied "Yes." With the sound of certain envy in my voice I affirmed with him "So you have THREE Harley Davidson motorcycles?" and he replied "Yes, consider me to be Harley poor!" We continued talking for another minute or so until his dog decided that we had enough conversation and it was time to go for his walk. As the dog pulled Charlie away from the car, I began backing out of our parking spot and as I rolled up the window I turned to my wife - "Did you hear that? Charlie has three Harley's!" "THREE" I replied to myself as I looked at her. After a not-so-short pause she says "Yeah, okay three... he doesn't have a wife either!"

She made a valid point and right then I knew I would do well enough to simply leave it alone. At least for another day! Charlie was no help... I guess I'll be looking for a new plan of attack!

!originalworks

Sort:  

In all "fairness," it looks like I need to do allot more Steemit posts to afford this toy... unless somebody wants to be generous and donate one to me! jk😋

Hahaha Mrs is funny. But I agree, you just need 1 Harley. American made muscle machine.

Now I know why the boys in my house (yep hubby and my son) have a Harley fever...

Yes, just one! I would settle for a baby Harley!

Hello retiredinsamar!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63549.46
ETH 2562.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66