Catching a thief in the act

in #story7 years ago

We had a surprise visitor this morning. While washing the dishes, I happened to glance out the kitchen window and spot some suspicious movement at the back of the garden, on the edge of the trees. I snatched up my cell phone and quietly slipped outside, hoping to catch the criminal red-handed.

I cautiously crept across the lawn, snapping photos every few feet as I went. I wasn't sure how close I'd get before the thief realised I was on to him, and wanted to collect as much evidence as possible as I went.

IMG_3264.jpg

I was able to get surprisingly close. Perhaps he was too distracted by his proximity to the prize to notice me. When I was only a few feet away, he looked directly at me, then pretended to occupy himself with his surroundings -- like a customer "just browsing" in a store; like he had other, more legitimate reasons to be there.

But I knew what he was after. My gold.

IMG_3266.jpg

Or more accurately, the tender crop of golden corn growing at the back of the garden.

He stood and watched me for a moment. Then, accepting that the jig was up, he quickly made his exit.IMG_3275.JPG

But not without stopping for one last look, as if to say, "I'll be back."

Part of me wanted to respond with an equally intimidating "Don't worry. I'll be ready." After all, I have a crop to protect.

But another part of me hopes he does return. Because after all, who doesn't enjoy a visit from a handsome young buck?

If you enjoyed this post, resteem, upvote and follow @redhens. Check out some of my other recent posts, including:

Sort:  

We have been getting feral chickens raiding our gardens lately. The mother hen had babies and now there are nearly 10 of them running around!! Funny and annoying at the same time.

have you tried catching them lol!

Careful. He'll steal your heart, and your veggies.

I'm sure he already has, especially with those beautiful velvet antlers he's sporting. :-)

With an animal themed name it didn't surprise me you got this close @redhens :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60929.80
ETH 2371.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49