Chapeter One: Locked In

in #story7 years ago (edited)

A Story About Tyme

Tyme lives in a house that looks like a clock. She loves to play, laugh, dance and sing the day away. When she is playing she can fly like a bird, straight as an arrow, true as the sky is blue. However, when she does not want to do something, she drags her feet, frowns very deep, and cries herself to sleep.

One day Tyme was leaving to go out and play with her friends. After spending 15 minutes looking for her favorite pink shoes she lost under the pile of toys she left in the middle of her bedroom floor she was ready to leave. Walking through her house, down a long hallway with many rooms that led to other worlds, through her living room full of her favorite books, musical instruments, paintings, and a lovely fireplace and her cat Cleo sleeping on the couch. She felt very happy to have a lovely home as she opened the door looking forward to a day full of friendship and play. But the doorknob wouldn't turn, the door was locked!

Although Tyme misplaces shoes, she never misplaces her house key. She keeps it on a ribbon around her neck.

"I don't remember locking my door, I never lock my doors. Someone must of locked the door last night when I slept, I wonder who would of done that? All my friends know I live with my doors unlocked," she thought to herself as she reached for her key. With a startled feeling making her hair stand up on her arms she found that her key was gone, ribbon and all! "I must of lost the key while I was sleeping last night," she mumbled to herself as she stomped down the long hall with the many doors to her bedroom door at the end of the hall.

Tyme's room was a mess, she hates to clean up after playing and never makes the bed! She threw all her stuffed animals, toys, and her half dozen pink pillows off the bed, no key. She looked through her blankets and sheets, under the bed where the dust bunnies lived. The dust bunnies hadn't seen her key and couldn't help her. She looked through her toys on the floor, her clothes in her closet, her coat pockets, all her purses and pants pockets too, no key!

"I can't get out of my house, my magical key locks all the windows and my door, there is no way for anyone to get in or out to help me," Tyme muttered as she went for her cellphone in her purse, thankfully it was there where it was supposed to be. I'll call my best friends Turbo and Looper, we will figure out what happened to my key.

"Hey Looper, do you have time to help me out with a problem I have today?" her hand was shaking a little as she held her phone to her ear.

"Sure, I would do anything for you Tyme," Looper said with a croaky kind of deep baritone of a bullfrog voice.

"Can you bring Turbo with you? I need a time jumper and someone who can loop through dates, " she said, Feeling greatful her friends were the best.

"Turbo is here with me, how can we help you?" Looper asked with concern as he turned his cellphone to speaker so Turbo could hear their conversation.

Illustration on Mixed Media Paper Using Watercolor, Gouache, Pen And Ink.

Tyme's Character

Some of the music I listened to whilst writing, Lisa Gerard, Whale Rider, Biking home

Sort:  

I want pink shoes too! And a frog named Looper and Turbo snail and then i'm gonna teach them how to use a cellphone!
Didn't know that Disturbed actually has some chill songs hmm.

You must come over and play, we have a game called Ground Hogs Day!

I'm already living in one, there is no need to play)

Truly wonderful work . I always love viewing your art when it's posted . Well done!

First chapter...and music too...I feel so lucky today. I actually bawled my eyes out when I first heard David Draiman singing this childhood favorite. I had to pull over to the side of the road. Such a departure...and yes Johnny Cash's rendition of Hurt still sends shivers up and down my spine.

I'm going to resteem this and follow you as I'm looking forward to reading and listening to more of what you offer here. My apologies about the long comment...it's my way. ~smiles~

This really jumped out at me "The dust bunnies hadn't seen her key and couldn't help her." lol...don't know why...stark truism? Dry wit? Locked in?

This song came into my head while reading...I expect the mess in her room and her stomping in the hallway...anyway it's still in my head so guess I should add it here.

Enjoy your day!

~smiles fer miles~

You gotta get in to get out...man what a weirdly beautiful song! I want long conversations, thoughtful comments I enjoy immensely. I don't know where Tyme's story will end up, I'm basing it on some pictures I've drawn and painted. So you and I will both enjoy my imagination. One thing that's never abandoned me or aged as I grow older, my imagination and also why I never get lonely. Thank you cryptologyx🌀

Patiently awaiting further adventures of Tyme ...another song ...one I hadn't heard in quite some time and thought I'd dig earlier today.

That's Brilliant! @reddust "I need a time jumper and someone who can loop through dates".
I can feel a bit of Johnny Cash within the story. Every time I go to Goodwill or thrifts I search for his LP's records ~ All his song/music has such a unique resonance on down beat...

I had my iTunes set on random tunes and I've noticed when working on my art makes me feel a little depressed and edgy. I'm focusing to intently and music helps me lighten up. I have no idea where those words came from, they popped up out of nowhere 😳

Muy agradable tu relato y tu dibujo hermoso @reddust .

Gracias @katari, voy a tratar de escribir un pequeño capítulo todos los días. No soy muy bueno escribiendo y deseo ser mejor.

Lets dancing yeye

Yes we can dance on the cloudless sky with no roof, walls, or door to lock us in!

Tyme is timeless and priceless too. Awesome.

You are the best @joeyarnoldvn! Thanks

Interesting red how many talents do you have? woow

@dim753, I've never written a story before. I don't remember a lot of my schooling because I was abused as a kid, writing actually hurts because it brings up memories of my abuse. However, a big however, I am starting to let go of those triggers thanks to steemit and my friends here.

Oh dear, I'm afraid I didn't read the comments here before I posted. I hope I didn't seem insensitive.

Still, your imagination certainly shines through if this is your first go at writing. I hope you find it as cathartic as so many writers do...as do I.

~peace out...in~

You weren't insensitive at all, you've been wonderful!

Reddust i'm without words i don't know what say, from here support for you and your strong ideas

You kindness is a balm for my sore heart, thank you <3

Thank you and I stopped by Discord.

NIce One.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61137.27
ETH 2383.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52