a Strange summer snow

in #story7 years ago

maxresdefault.jpg
Image source: pintrest.com

It is the middle of winter and everything is covered in a thick layer of snow. Most people hate the cold, and have chosen to lock themselves indoors, and under a mouton of blankets. The cold has never really bothered me, in fact, the story that I’m about to tell you takes place on one of the coldest days of the century.

It started out as a normal day. I got up, went to work, and came back home. It only started getting strange at around three in the afternoon. It began with light snow flakes, so small they were barely even noticeable. After about half an hour or so the flakes started becoming slightly bigger and some even made it to the ground before melting away, and pretty soon everything was white. Now of course this might be normal if it wasn't the middle of the summer and not even close to snowing season. And I can promise you it stopped almost everyone in their tracks, including me. And like the generation we are, people pulled out their phones and started taking videos and photos, before long social media was blowing up and everyone who was anyone knew about the summer snow. Before long it started to spread to most of the world and even deserts with now white wonder lands.

Some people saw this as a sign and started packing up to some secret bunker in the middle of nowhere, others chose to ignore it and go on with their days as usual. I how ever felt something entirely defend.

At first it felt as though I were in a dream and I had to constantly remind myself that I was still in reality. Once it sunk in, a different feeling began to rise up. In the middle of a frozen world I felt a strange sense of warmth. It’s a feeling that still fills me whenever it snows. I didn't quite know why I was feeling like this or what to do about it. Everything just felt so clean and pure. Nothing was visible except for snow, as far as the eye could see. I even chose to walk home from work so that I could bask in it amazing glory. Granted I was not dressed for this weather at all, but even as the flakes fell onto my body it felt as though they were embracing me and keeping me warm.

Once I was home I decided to change out of my damp clothes and into something a little warmer, not that I needed it, but I felt like that was the correct thing to do in this kind of weather. I pulled a jersey off my bed that I had slept in the night before, and with the swift movement I accidentally knocked my bible off of my bedside table. It flew open and landed face down next to the bed. I quickly picked it up and curiously checked where it landed. My eye jumped to the only highlighted verse in the bible (I must point out that it did belong to my mom before she gave it to me, she loved to highlight verses that she said spoke to her the most) It was Proverbs 31:21.

bb785ae19364b9a474bf35343edcb872.jpg
Image source: https://za.pinterest.com/pin/339458890646728462/?autologin=true

I suddenly felt a warm tingle run through my body and had to sit down. I must have read the verse at least 30 or so times that night before finally falling asleep. I suddenly knew why I didn't fear the snow or ignored it. I had nothing to fear and I couldn't ignore it absolute beauty. I knew that even though it was unusual I was fine, I was more than fine I was protected by the blood of an everlasting God. I was safe even in the darkest (or whitest) of times.

signature_2.gif

Sort:  

This post has received gratitude of 1.00 % from @jout

You got a 0.29% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jout!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60997.20
ETH 2384.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56