Nine To Five (By Lemuel)

in #story7 years ago

This poem is called Nine to Five

I wake up eat work then sleep it seems my days are on repeat
Hardley any new faces the same people I meet
There’s a machine like tone to the way I greet
How many more times will I walk this street?
I’ve numbered this road with the steps of my feet
My days make haste like copy and paste
How much more time do I have to waste?
However!
There’s a happiness when I’m yawning on a Friday morning
The week was crawling but the weekend is dawning
There’s a tingle in my neck
As I receive my pay cheque
At least I know that I can pay my debt
Unlock these chains which I myself set
I go to sleep Friday and wake up Monday
Someone presses fast forward on Saturday and Sunday
It seems my weekend is only one day
Whether I walk or drive the same place I arrive
Am I even alive

For video of this poem check out

Follow for more

Sort:  

Congratulations @poetry-by-lemuel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @poetry-by-lemuel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @poetry-by-lemuel! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66050.37
ETH 2629.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68