You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 10 Things I Learned From Being Homeless

in #story7 years ago

Thank you for sharing your story. I will admit that, while my mother did struggle raising my sister and I alone, I never had the misfortune of becoming homeless. Growing up, it took my a while to understand why all my friends could have the coolest toys and wear the latest trends in fashion, But I myself was limited to what my sister couldn't fit anymore and looked forward to my mother sneaking us the newest kids meal toys from her fast food job.

She raised us well, though, and we understood and respected the struggle she went through to keep a roof over our heads. I may not have experienced the worse, but I like to think gained a higher level of respect for those who have. I may not have a lot now, but I try to help how I can. The homeless rate is not high where I live, but giving someone else five bucks, a meal, or some extra clothes when they need it isn't going to set me back.

Sort:  

I have a story like yours ( maybe not) butt my mom struggled to keep food and the fridge and the lights on. We have came close to having our lights shut off. Rent ate up most of my mom's check. We were blessed we didn't end up in the streets. Plus my mom was sick and missed a lot of work which also interfered.

Very similar. My mother had to choose between the lights and the hot water. I remember she would boil large pots of water to put in the tub and then add cold water so that we could still have a warm bath. And yes we were blessed as well and I am blessed to have her now. She wasn't sick then, but now she has MS. So we are both on disability and we take care of the house and my two little ones together. I try to do most of the work so that she doesnt have to, but she is always willing to watch the kids when I need a break away.

My mom was on disability from her job but she was fired because the doctor wouldn't sign off on her papers.

It must be difficult for a child. I know how I feel not being able to provide cool toys, I cannot imagine how the kids feel. I realize they will understand later in life, but for the time being it's rough.

It really can be tough. I chose early on no to enforce the belief in Santa and the Tooth fairy. It took on time for my son to question why he wasn't good enough and why Santa didn't bring what he asked for. At the time I was heart broken and didn't know how to explain that Santa is on a tight budget and the Tooth fairy gets paid monthly so she sometimes leaves I.O.Us. It worked out good for our family and both my kids are more understand when it comes to holidays. I make sure they do not ruin it for other kids though. The sad part now is that my daughter is constantly trying to give back her allowance to help with groceries or school clothes. She has a good heart.

Awe, your daughter sounds like a doll. With her attitude and foundation I am confident she will do something wonderful in life :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85