Candy Corn

in #story8 years ago

It was a dark and stormy night. Dani watched lightning streak across the sky outside her window. Anthony was on the couch eating candy corn one stripe at a time. "Is this actually supposed to look like corn?" he asked, holding a piece up to the single lit lamp. "It looks more like a traffic cone."

Dani turned toward him. "I think it's supposed to be a kernel?"

Anthony tossed the candy into his mouth. "I can see that."

Dani turned back to the window. Lightning jagged across the sky. Thunder shook the apartment just a few seconds behind. "Storm is getting closer." Every electric bolt lit her up. She tingled all over. "Hey!" She spun around to face Anthony. "Let's dance."

He hopped off the couch and held out his hands. "Of course! Shall we tango?"

She allowed herself to be swept into his arms and followed his lead. He hummed with every step.

"You know," he whispered, angling his head so his breath tickled her neck. "It is almost a full moon. And when the moon is ripe enough to be plucked from the sky, certain . . . urges come upon me."

Dani laughed. "Oh really. Such as?"

"This dance. It brings the blood to your face." He pulled away dramatically. "I shouldn't tell you this, but I can smell it. Your blood gives life, but not just to you!" Anthony raised his eyebrows and bared his teeth. "To me! I will drink it!"

"Oh my god!" Dani fell backwards onto the couch. Anthony came with her, kissing her neck. "You are ridiculous. Besides, werewolves turn at the full moon. Vampires are vampires all the time."

Anthony pulled back. "Oh? I guess I had it wrong then. Nevermind." He sat up and grabbed another candy corn. He nibbled it suggestively, waiting for her reaction.

She smacked it out of his hand. "Come back here!" She yanked him back down on the couch and bared her neck. "I want you to turn me."

Anthony tucked a finger along the neck of her shirt and pulled it down. "Ask and you shall receive."


I hope you enjoyed this fun flash fiction piece. If you want to read more of Dani's story, check out these links:

Solitary Chill
Calculated Risk
Total Immersion
Promise of the Unexpected
Dangerous Waters
Talking with Leaves

image via pixabay.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68062.15
ETH 2637.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70