You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Team – (PowerHouseCreatives Contest) – “If I were…”

in #story5 years ago (edited)

Isolation and casting the louse out would take too long but is always the safer route, ;) a route I employ with great patience in many aspects. I do not, however, involve myself too much with teams I have never been good with that cause' I expect to be the least, but also do not trust the others to do things properly. I did do quite well in sports teams but I think if you have your place and not doing it to the best then wtf are you doing. In real life, though a formal team structure sucks - when responsibilities are too rigid and narrow - general main responsibility + is bit better - because there is also a lot of flexibility involved you must know your work and the others to an extent to work seamlessly and then ostracizing someone becomes a piece of cake because in fact who needs them? I think that is how I see many people at some point.

I like how you kept the whole story quite abstract/generic not anything specific but almost stereotypical.

!tip 1

Sort:  

It's very encouraging, what you wrote about the story being abstract, and that you like that aspect of it. I was trying to tell this without identifying the actual setting. The root of the story is actually based on an incident that I happened to witness part of, when I was in basic training. The "team" was my platoon. The organization was the U.S. Army.

I didn't make it inside where he broke his leg - it was a crowded scene. I basically saw them carry him in there and that was about it until someone came out and said what happened. The guy was a real POS though. I believe they dishonorably discharged him after the incident. Thanks for the tip! :D

Good he did get what was coming, the others just got punishment I assume to save face. I like how you use POS because if you and an E after the O then it is a proper Afrikaans swear word ;)

Haha, it must be a really bad one, that you didn't write it out but just alluded to it. So what does it mean? I'm afraid to write it, lol.

It is effectively the Afrikaans version of C*nt , with the flexibility of F*uck , even though we force the usage, it has a satisfying hard P sound which makes it quite satisfying to say just like C*nt. Although at the most barebones and crudest we use Po*s to insult many a mother. Although there is no translation I think you can get the gist from this vid ;) haha


Ok found this one he explains in english

Ja/Nee then the little bliksem runs away 😊 - can confirm @free-reign, a very expressive word, just don't say it out too loud!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67