You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops (The THG Years) – Part Seven

in #story5 years ago

This made me think of the time when we hosted a party for all the members of the local boards. My girlfriend was freaking out because we had no idea what these people were like in real life! Can you imagine trying to do this today with random facebook people?

It actually turned out to be pretty cool. This one guy brought over the best egg rolls I've ever had. It's funny too because people are so different than their online personas.

There was this dude who's handle was Maelstrom.. He was a complete jackass on the slam subs. He was always going on about how he pumped iron in the gym every day etc. He showed up, and he was the skinniest guy you've ever seen.

The thing I miss the most about those days was that most people online had some general computer knowledge. You could throw technical jargon out there and most people would not get lost! I guess getting those warez and sexy gifs (all night download of 100kb) was worth the effort. haha

Sort:  

I have great memories of the first meetup and the pissed off girlfriend did take a photograph of us which has of course got lost. I know what you mean about persona's being different than your expectations.

I guess getting those warez and sexy gifs (all night download of 100kb) was worth the effort. haha

Make it 1Gb and your right, HDD space was super expensive then. I'll cover that later though.

1 gig at 2400 baud. See ya next year!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00