You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pioneers of the First Computerized Social Media ( BBS ) Bulletin board system - I was a Owner/Operator

in #story7 years ago

Yes, those days were fun. There is actually a resurgence of BBS activity again. I run a BBS at telnet: bbs.thehomesteadinghippy.com port 34123 which is connected to the now very popular fsxnet. My BBS is actually run on a raspberry pi. Thanks for the article again - I enjoyed reading it.

Sort:  

Wow very cool, thanks for bringing me up to speed !
Guess I'm a little ADD cuz I originally started writing about bringing the modem communication back, in case of internet shutdown ( keeping the blockchain alive :-) LOL
I'm hopeless
Please send me any links that might set me in the right dirrection
Now following you ( of course ) :-)
Life is Good - but gotta fly....or weld rather LOL

I have wondered about the idea of access in case of either Internet shutdown or loosing access through either government intervention or disaster of some sort.

The bbs software I run on the raspberrypi is Mystic which can be acccessed at http://mysticbbs.com.

There are also a number of youtube videos that describe bbs setup and configuration using that software from the Mystic Guy (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCPOUHszVXaGNSlK3AdI7kLQ).

There is of course a number of people that use Ham Radio to network BBS together as well.

All super great ideas, ham radio, beefed up WiFi antennas and people running repeaters. Very cool stuff, I knew there must be people on this, I just never got around to looking. Even Satellite links ( but that would mean a center attack point . My head is starting to spin...Gotta go do my chores LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64010.25
ETH 3401.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62