Elon and the Space Man: part 2 Star Date 01.038

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Captains Log: star date 01.038

I am in space........Hic Locus et Tempus est!

As I watch the capsule from the Falcon drift away I feel strangely lost and utterly small and insignificant. Earth’s blue and green colours are reflected on my roadster and in my mirror I catch a glimpse of the moon. There are more stars than I have ever seen and as I watch Africa pass underneath me I realise that the light indicating an incoming radio signal is flashing . It’s Elon’s frequency, I guess he’s anxious to know if all is well.

tesla-blinking button-cartoon.jpg

I let the light flash for a few more minutes while I drown myself in the beauty of it all.
When I try to press the button that opens the radio channel several times I have to chuckle. Elon and his obsession for small beautiful buttons…. He is such a tool sometimes. On my third attempt I manage to open the channel and hear Elon’s slightly irritated voice crystal clear through the build in speakers in my suit.

“Hello, are you there?” he says “Why don’t you answer me, is something wrong?”. Typical Elon behaviour, he is a terrible control freak, but I am the boss man now. “No my friend” I reply, “Everything is ok, I just wanted to enjoy the view for a bit.” “There’s plenty of time for that later” says Elon, “Did you finish your checklist already? We’re waiting for your confirmation here.” Once more i have to giggle. “Ah, yes the checklist” I say, “You will have to wait a bit longer I’m afraid, I’m currently uploading my playlist in the system”. “You didn’t really expect me to listen to David Bowie all the time, did you?”

Elon is not pleased. “Damn it Space Man” he shouts, “I thought I made myself clear on that”. I laugh at his anger and try not to sound too smug when I answer him. “ Well I guess we should have a talk about our mutual expectations then Elon”, “I think it’s mostly my opinion that matters now, since I’m up here and you’re not.” The silence that follows seems to last forever and I can almost picture him sitting there in front of his monitors, realising that he’s not in control anymore.

5aelon-musk-mission-control-spacex_cartoon.jpg

When he finally answers his voice is squeaky and lacking of conviction. “Any more surprises you wish to share with me?” he asks. “well….. you know I’ve always said our solar system is for tourists right? I reply, “And I’m a space explorer, not a bloody tourist”. I expect him to start shouting again, but instead he sighs. “Well it seems that you’re calling the shots now Space Man” he replies after a bit, then he laughs and says “At least until I’m coming up there myself and whoop your ass”. A smile forms on my face, you gotta love that man. “That would be the day.” I answer him, “Unlikely, but what a pair we would make: Elon and the space Man.” “Too bad you’ve got a company to run down there”. Elon laughs at me and when he answers it is with his usual conviction back in his voice. “I build self-driving cars you idiot, how long do you think it would take me to build a self-running company?”

Could he be serious? Am I just here to set up shop for him? Nothing would surprise me from this man anymore. But for now he’s just another guy on Earth and I’m among the stars. So I disregard the thought and reply with a stab disguised as a joke. “That’s great Elon, but you gotta hurry to catch up…I’m about to engage thrusters and put this sexy spaceship in to ludicrous mode”.

Once more I get to enjoy a silent Elon Musk.

“The checklist is in your mailbox” are my last words before I cut the connection. The time has come to put my money where my mouth is. When I press the button the boosters kick in immediately. Once again I’m pushed in to my seat and in my rear view mirror I see the Earth rapidly getting smaller.

Shouting is space is pointless, but I just can’t help myself.
I have become an explorer.

To be continued....


If you are eager for more Elon and the Space Man, please follow us and upvote/resteem this post

Check here for part 1:
https://steemit.com/story/@weddingdresses/elon-and-the-space-man-part-i

Click here for part 3:
https://steemit.com/story/@news-today/elon-and-the-space-man-part-3-star-date-01-278

Sort:  

Very nice fantasy @news-today, you have literally skills and rich imagination. Now I'm waiting to see what destiny did you set for your Spaceman :)

Wow, i appreciate the compliment and also your follow. I am really excited about Steemit and somehow the format makes the writing come easy. It is kinda hard to get noticed, so if you have any tips for me how to get the word out, please share :-)

If you would resteem you would really make my day. I hope you don't mind me asking.

Posted part 3.. Enjoy!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by News-today from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This is awesome, I thought, I was with you in the space while reading.

Just cite about the images, like who created, or from where brought. That would add originality to the content, to be curated :) Also mention, if it is posted here first, or posted anywhere else as well.

I very much appreciate the compliment.
The pictures were done by myself as well and yes, you did read it here first. This is not posted anywhere else!

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies for writing this great original content. Do not use bid bots for at least 1-2 days, as your post may get picked up by top curators.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators, refer posts from my Step-Brother @humanbot for more details.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me. Check out my Introduction Post for more details. If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat or discord most of the time.

This post has received a 0.74% upvote from thanks to: @news-today.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.050 SBD|STEEM to bid for votes.


Do you know, you can also earn daily passive income simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper by clicking following links: 10SP, 100SP, 500SP, 1000SP or Another amount

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57014.79
ETH 2478.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29