[FLASH FICTION] Run From the Screams

in #story8 years ago


Project 250: my attempt to tell a story in 250 words.

#1 Run From the Screams


Energised now that I had had a chance to rest, I looked around and tried to get a sense of surroundings. I knew I wouldn't have too long, I had to keep moving. It was imperative. Deep breathes. One, two, three. Oxygen, thank god. Fill my lungs, help me out, I must keep running. I think I finally have some inkling of an idea of what is going on. I hope I'm wrong.


The light is fading, maybe I have two hours until the sun sets. I don't think I want to be out after that. Not if I understand the situation correctly. My hearts racing, I can sense the panic. Adrenaline pumping through me, it's keeping me going right now, but eventually I will crash, I will feel the shock of this situation. And it's not a good situation. Not at all.


And those screams. That's the second time now. It's a frightening sound. I feel so helpless, but I have to keep moving. I need to find some place safe. And soon. Or that scream, that will be my last sound.


I will run as far as I possibly can. I'll give all I have. Then find somewhere to hide. I need to get through the night. I honestly don't know if i will. I doubt I will get much sleep. When today started, I was not expecting the Zombie Apocalypse to begin. 

 ________________________________________________

Thank you for taking the time to read this story. If you liked it please give it an upvote, and feel free to leave a comment. I try to respond to all comments. To stay up to date with new releases you may follow me at @naquoya where you will also find my earlier works.

I write fiction, concentrating on SciFi, Fantasy, Horror from the Psychological end of the spectrum.

I also write poetry, with the occasional article or essay on topics of interest.

Sort:  

Very nice what you have posted, Thank you for sharing this material

Thank you your time and response. I appreciate it.

Sounds intense....very curious to see what happens!

Intense is good, although hard to achieve in only 250 words. So I appreciate you telling me. As for what happens next. In this format I think that your imagination will need to take over, but I could develop it into a larger format (3000 words +), to give it a chance to evolve. Food for thought!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64725.57
ETH 3184.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54