A short story-Empress Jen Scolds General Liu

in #story7 years ago (edited)

timg.jpg

In the fourth year of Empress Jen, her loyal General Liu approached her at Morning audience.

“Most exalted and august Empress, opportunity is rife to augment your lands and slay your opponents. My scouts have learned that your enemies are encamped at the bottom of two river valleys. There, they make merry, carouse, and neglect their guard duties. No enemy soldiers are posted on the hills surrounding the valleys, and the troops are careless and have neglected to put on their armor. Their officers are drunk in the arms of wanton women. If you permit me to lead two strong divisions down from the hills and station blocking detachments at the mouth and rear of the valleys, I guarantee you a splendid victory.”

Enraged, Empress Jen rose from her Dragon Chair and addressed her loyal General beneath her:

“You miserable and disloyal wretch! How dare you suggest to my face that I risk my splendid troops in an uncertain maneuver destined to wreak havoc on my soldiers. You idiot, how can you propose such a harebrained scheme! Get hence, you fool!”

Hurriedly leaving the Great Hall after making his obsequious exit, General Liu instructed his trusted lieutenants to provide further proof of the enemies’ precarious position to the Empress.

After two days of deliberation, the Empress summoned General Liu.

“Do not dare to pressure me into a position that may spell doom to my empire. Alas, I permit you to put your two divisions in place to surround the enemy encampments and to put up blocking positions at the entrance and exit of their valleys. However, under no circumstances are you allowed to attack unless I give you express permission, understand, you reckless idiot?”

“Most exalted and august Empress, it shall be done as you command.”

General Liu took his two divisions, and the blocking detachments, and placed them in position. Then, he sent his Empress a message: “Most exalted and august Empress, the troops are in position, awaiting your order to strike.”

The Empress sent back a furious reply:

“You utter fool and degenerate, turtle spawn, son of a dog and a donkey: I told you not to attack! Now you put me in a most awkward position. Is there nobody in my realm who can do exactly as I command?”

Dejected, General Liu sent back a message: “Most exalted and august Empress, your humble servant Liu has not given the signal to attack. He has merely placed your troops in position ready to await your judicious order to attack.”

After a day of silence, General Liu sent back another urgent message to the capital of Jen: “Most exalted and august Empress, the enemy is getting ready to put his troops into battle position. I recommend striking him from the hills, while blocking the entry and exit of the valley, and to do so immediately.”

The Empress sent back a message: “General, you may do so, but do not dare to fail me or your head shall roll.”

Invigorated, General Liu gave the signal to attack just as the sun rose red in the East. With quick, bold and determined moves, his soldiers rushed down the hillside, engaged the utterly surprised enemies. Liu’s blocking battalions were ready to deny the enemies escape at the heads and exits of the two valleys.

Two great battles began. Even though the defenders held out valiantly, they were no match for the soldiers of Jen. They mercilessly cut down their opponents, striking fear and terror in the hearts of officers and men alike.

In the late afternoon as the sun sank in the West, her beams shone upon two battlefields where Jen had carried two decisive victories. The enemy lay dead, his forces smashed, his troops destroyed and the few captives wailing and begging for mercy.

In two days, General Liu presented his Empress Liu with the heads of 9,000 enemies. Among them were many splendid opponents who had been felled in a battle that came as an utter surprise to them.

At audience time, Empress Jen spoke seated from her Dragon Chair: “I see it was well done. My heart was with my precious soldiers on the day of battle. My spiritual guidance for their success has not failed.”

Sort:  

this post is so amazing, I'm so inspired to keep working hard on steem.

Thank u. This story is written by my fiance. He is better than me in writing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60826.76
ETH 2393.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62