A growing artist

in #story7 years ago

Hi Steemers!

Can you believe it's already Wednesday? I feel like I've crossed off one thing on my to do list so far...le sigh. How has everyone else's weeks been going? Since July is basically right around the corner I'm working on getting more paid shoots this month, so if you know any designers, brands, jewelry companies, etc. in LA that need photos please let me know! Right now I have two, and that's not enough to pay my bills bills bills. #freelancelife amirite!
Amanda 5-17 (69 of 1057).jpg

Amanda 5-17 (214 of 1057).jpg

I'm trying to look at it from a new perspective. Instead of it being terrifying that so far for July I'm only making $350, I'm turning it into a puzzle, or a game that I'm playing against myself, and I don't want to lose. I'm constantly trying to think of new ways to market myself and get more work. What has worked in the past, what isn't working, and how can I think out of the box-which is always a struggle for me. As a freelancer your work day is never done, but that's ok-this is the only thing I want to do so I'll make it work.

Amanda 5-17 (561 of 1057).jpg

Amanda 5-17 (682 of 1057).jpg

Now, onto today's shoot! This was a shoot I did early this month with a new model/actress Amanda ( I posted a few other shots from our shoot in my intro post). She contacted me and sent me some inspo photos of what she wanted, which were all very dreamy with wind blown hair, and I feel like we got just that. This was my first paid shoot in a studio, which I was nervous about since that's not my element. I was so happy with the results of this shoot. I felt like I got that dewy skin that I've been trying to get, with just lighting and not photoshop, and I also got to play with some cool shadows and try something new.

Amanda was super nervous and kept telling me she didn't know what to do before the shoot. The day of the shoot though I found out that she's been doing ballet her whole life. Dancers also make great models because they know how to hold their bodies and pose-so of course I told her she was doing amazing and not to worry. I feel like it takes a good 15-30 min for a model to relax and feel comfortable in front of the camera, and me as well behind the camera. We definitely have to get into our grooves.
Amanda 5-17 (592 of 1057).jpg

She booked the studio for one hour, which flew by, and then I asked her if she wanted to walk around downtown LA to take some more photos. The lighting in downtown LA around 6pm is just unreal. I'm not sure what it is, the extra smog in the air or the reflection off of tall buildings, or what, but it was sensational. I know I know, the lighting is always amazing at dusk, but sometimes it just feels different in different places. Like I shot a musician at this cemetery in the bay area in the middle of fall last year and there was something about the light that was just so crisp and vibrant at that time...I can't explain it, but hopefully some fellow photographers know what I mean. (I'll post those photos soon! I've actually never shared them anywhere so this will be fun. Have I mentioned that I love Steemit for allowing me to post whatever I want and not having any 'rules')
Amanda 5-17 (908 of 1057).jpg
Amanda 5-17 (289 of 1057).jpg

This shoot felt to me that I was taking my photos in the direction I wanted to move them in. I felt like I've been trying to change my style up, but it wasn't working out quite right until this shoot. I was so excited to edit them when I got home, I did them all in like 2 hours. I should post some old work, I used to do a lot more vintage themed shoots with vibrant colors, which I love, but now I'm feeling very soft colors, awkward and unique or stoic poses, and very detailed styling. It's amazing how your work grows with you.

Thanks for checking out my shots!

Amanda 5-17 (377 of 1057).jpg

Sort:  

beautiful with natural makeup hair

Eres demasiado hermosa, muy buenas fotos!

You photographed her perfectly! She's got a natural healthy glow. ✨

The real money is always in wedding photography. I know its the worst creatively, but it does cover bills. Another thing you may consider is boudoir photography, it's something you can do anywhere in the country, as long as you use targeted ads and book a full shoot day in advance. Use a pseudonym if you don't want it interfering with your professional rep, may I suggest Sally Goodman? Terrific shots as always.

Congratulations @mterrisphoto! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I love this entire shoot. Keep on hustling! Your photography speaks for your talent and the fact that you are putting yourself out there earns you huge respect points from me. I can't wait to hear your "I went from $350 to..." success story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60320.14
ETH 3373.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51