Euphoria

in #story6 years ago

sc.jpg

Picture source: Sid and Cassie

The lights danced in sync with the music, typical prom music. After the rave music the DJ played, the floor was filled with couples and people who probably got the balls to ask their crushes. Unfortunately, I'm not one of those. If there's a list for cowards, I'd belong in the top 10.

I sat with my friends talking about the girls they wanted to ask. After a couple of minutes, they vanished one by one until I'm the only one left sitting. I have been glancing at my watch and looking around. There was no trace of you. After the fifth melody played, I saw you wearing that blue, elegant-looking gown and your as sweet as a candy smile.

I've been stealing glances since I saw you around. I didn't have the courage to ask you so I just watched you have fun, dance with some guys, and with your friends. I remained seated and watched you for awhile, then, I went at the rooftop. It was serene. Well, not fully serene, because of the hint of music from downstairs but I'm alone. It felt cozy.

I'm humming a song when I heard some steps. I looked who the person is and I am shocked to see that it was you. It felt like I was in a movie, like everything was in slow motion. My heart pounded out of my chest when you got close. The awkwardness was scattered in the air. No one was talking. I wondered what's going on with that psyche of yours. I tried to talk and you do too. We both laughed then I said. "You go first."

"Why are you not downstairs?" she uttered while looking at the endless sky above us.

"Why are YOU not there?" I said looking at her as if she was a star that lights my night.

"I got bored." She said. I didn't reply.

"I haven't seen you dancing with anyone. Don't you know how to dance?" she asked.

"It's not that. It's 'cause... I don't have the courage to ask the girl I like." I said shyly.

"Oh. Same." She said. That put a huge question mark in my mind. Who is she talking about? I wondered.

No one spoke for a minute or two. My heart was still pounding nervously. I took a deep breath and let my cowardice transform into courage.

"Can you dance with me?" I asked her while offering my sweaty hand. She said yes and we started dancing. After the second song, she told me that we should stop because her feet were aching. We sat on a bench quietly.

"Your question awhile ago, it's not because I'm bored. Ah... actually, I'm just gathering myself together. I need some air and courage to confess my affection for a person." She said.

I was shocked. A part of me hoped that it was me and the other half of me said that it's just too good to be true. I quickly scratched that thought.

"Do you mind if I ask who the man you're talking about?" I asked with my nervous heart beat.

"Man?” she said it looking at me as if she was baffled then she had a little laugh. “Woman." She quoted in the air then she chuckled. That made me froze like an ice for awhile. She snapped the hell out of me by tapping my arm.

"Wow. I... I thought it's for a man."

"You scarcely know me." She smiled. "I think I should get going. I've had a good time. Thank you!" She tapped me on my shoulder and she started walking down while I was left speechless. Hell! The girl I like likes girls. My mind was blown just like how Prince Oberyn's mind was blown.

That moment will be one of my treasured high school memories. I may not get what I really wanted– being her significant one, but I fought my cowardice. Fair enough, right? Well, life isn't a fairytale after all. You won't always get what you've been dreaming of. Maybe we're just not for each other. Cliché, yes, but true.

I stayed for another minute looking at the night lights mimicking the stars above. 'Twas a euphoric moment that ended like a smoke. I started walking downstairs and through the gate. It wasn't that late so I went to the Park near our school.

There's a girl in one of the benches wearing a gown and holding her phone near her face. She was reading. I didn't want to look like a creep so I sat one bench away. Suddenly, a Beatle song played.

“Michelle, ma belle. These are words that go together well, my Michelle. Michelle, ma belle. Sont les mots qui vont très bien ensembl...”

It was my phone and that was a call. I ended it quickly hoping not to get the girl's attention. I looked at her and she was walking towards me.

"I'm sorry for the music. 'Tis a call. Did I interrupt you?" I asked worrying.

"So, you listen to The Beatles?" she said smiling. That smile made me forget what happened a while ago.

"Yes, I do." I said smiling too. That moment, a sudden spark hit me. I didn't feel any cowardice that time that I got to ask her to dance with me with a Beatle song. We danced with the song "'Till there was you".

“There was love all around but I never heard it singing. No, I never heard it at all. ‘Till there was you. ‘Till there was you...”

After the song ended we sat and looked up at the sky.

"I never saw you in our school. Are you from different school?" I asked.

"I am." She said.

"Hey, we have been here for quite awhile, I still don't know your name. So, may I know your name?"

"No."

"Will I see you again?"

"Hmm. We'll see." She smiled and walked away.

"I'll see you." I murmured in the air. I didn't bother to follow her. Maybe someday I'll see her again. In the bus, in the streets, in a bookstore, a music store, in a thrift shop, anywhere. I walked past my school still loud and alive because of the music. I went home and continued watching my favorite series. It was such a euphoric night.

Sort:  

Congratulations @moniqueph! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86