Live Free - STACH Short Story Contest #16

in #story7 years ago

“Why are you doing this?” said Sophie. “You’re wasting your time. You should be doing something useful not frittering away the morning.” She moved closer and Tom got a whiff of the lotion she used every morning and evening.

Lightly she placed her hand on her husband’s shoulder, looking over his shoulder and sighing she said, “I don’t understand how this helps anything.”

“I told you already, I need to do this so we can get out of this trap we’re in,” said Tom. You could hear in his voice that he’d said this many times to Sophie. “This will give us a better life, more options, money in the bank, and it gives me a sense of accomplishment. Plus I’m meeting some great people and improving myself.”

“I still don’t get it,” said Sophie.

green-eyes.jpgImage Credit

Tom turned and looked in his wife’s clear gold flecked green eyes. Those eyes that radiated her emotions so clearly showed her worry. “Ok. If nothing else I’m improving as a writer, and that’s helpful, right? You’ll just have to trust me that Steemit will allow us to live free. Free of jobs and debts and free to do as we like – every day.”

If you're interested in entering this short-story contest you can find it here: https://steemit.com/contest/@stach/stach-short-story-contest-16-199-words-10sbd-prize-pool

Sort:  

That was unexpected. And including Steemit in that way - the patience, hard work, vision... is a nice touch.

Glad I was able to pull you in and surprise you. I haven't written fiction in several decades, so just starting to get my feet wet again - so to speak.

this is my morning talk with my cat sophie. the name actually means "wisdom"

Ironic that the name Sophie means "wisdom". I wasn't aware of that.

))) You live and learn!

This post has received a 2.25 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @moneyinfant.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67334.64
ETH 3519.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10