Curse of the Bark – #fiftywords

in #story6 years ago (edited)

This is my first contest entry on Steemit. My fifty word tale is in the form of a poem for the https://steemit.com/fiction/@jayna/fifty-word-story-prompt-and-contest.

He startled her with a roguish pinch
Ignored her feral smile and angry squint
In a fine-china cup she served him tea
Made from the bark of the wolf-willow tree
Too late he learned in the moon high dark
The gypsy curse of the bark in the bark

WolfMoon-sm.jpg
Original computer graphic by me for this poem

© 08 March 2018
by D. Denise Dianaty

Sort:  

That is why my mother always told me never to take anything from strangers :)

LOL. Wise advice from mom. Equally wise advice from kitchen and waitstaff everywhere: Never tick off the person handling your food. This is why dudes shouldn’t sexually harass their waitresses. Thanks for the upvote.

That is one of the best entries, I've come across, Denise:) Excellent work:)

Thanks so much, Pryde!

Oh, this is magnificent! Thanks so much for your entry. You have made excellent use of every word.

Thanks so much!

This is really cool! I look forward to seeing more!

Thank you. I hope I won’t disappoint.

Yum! Lyrical without being sweet. Edgy. I really like it.

I’m gratified you like it. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75