The True Story of My Date with a Beautiful Genius Recovering Drug Addict Ex-Lawyer Turned Vegan Chef - Part 2

in #story8 years ago (edited)

We ended part 1 with Anna and I getting on the phone for the first time after trading some emails


Part - 1


That first conversation lasted 3 hours!

Admittedly, I was excited. Anna seemed intellectual and we had similar points of view on societal topics. She used to be a lawyer and apparently past the New York bar exam with only two weeks of study. Intellectual wasn’t the right label, she was a freaking genius! Anyway, after a year of law she realized that wasn’t what she wanted to do and went to culinary school in Florida, which is how she found herself down here.

We planned on meeting up the next day for coffee and a walk on the beach. Somewhere in our phone conversation we got into how traditional dating has died and men don’t pick up women at their homes, bring flowers, open doors, etc.

“I’d expect you’d come pick me up on our first date” said Anna.

“I’ll come get you right now” I said sarcastically.

“Are you serious?”

“Wait, do you want to hang out right now?” I asked

“Well, my evening is actually open and I don’t have to get up early tomorrow so if you are serious I’ll come out tonight.”

“Yeah, I can do that. Give me your address………….wait, you live where?”

She was just south of Fort Lauderdale. Did I forget to mention I was hoping to find a girl that was no more than 30 minutes away? Yes, you can label me neurotic at this point.

Over the last few years I had been driving to the Fort Lauderdale area a lot as that is where the majority of my friends lived. I finally hit a point where I had enough.

It was a 45 minute drive south and I was doing it every weekend along with the occasional weekday for karaoke night! As if singing poorly in the car wasn’t enough, let’s take a nice long drive to do it front of others, sweet!

So in the prior six months I pretty much became a drive snob. I would rather stay home than drive all that way anymore.

I found myself sucking it up once more and telling her, OK I will be there in an hour. Multiple visible tattoos, lives nearly an hour away, but atleast I had a date, right?

Had I only known in advance these items would be the least of my concerns just a few hours later.


Regards,
From the life and times of Mitchell J (and the mind behind @scaredycatguide)
Thanks for the pic pixabay

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65836.42
ETH 2694.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87