How Steemit Has Improved My Inner Self: Contest Entry

in #story7 years ago (edited)

My first couple weeks on Steemit has brought back my inspiration and drive. I was feeling uninspired, listless and a little hopeless. I didn't see a way that I could do what I do and make any kind of impact on the world, let alone enough income to provide for my coming child. I had gotten to the point where I seriously questioned, "What is the point of even doing my art?" I mean, I enjoy doing my art... but if I couldn't get it in front of a large audience, and I couldn't make enough money to cover my expenses in life, then what was I doing? It is hard to enjoy anything, when I am anxious and worried about "getting by".

Enter the world of Steemit. I had actually heard about this platform about 6 months ago, but never looked into until a couple weeks ago. I was immediately impressed by the amount of creative content and so I eagerly wrote my introduction post. Not much reception, so I wrote another. And another. Within a couple hours of sharing my art, I started to receive encouraging comments, a couple upvotes and some followers! I got very excited. I started to imagine the possibilities. I started to look through old photos of my art. I started to remember what made me paint those pictures, in the first place.

I do my art, so that I can connect with my intuition. I create, so that I can share. I share, so that I can connect with others.

Steemit has revealed to me, my biggest creative blocks. Fear. Fear of failure, fear of success. Fear that if I give it my all and I fail, then there is nothing left for me. This platform has changed the way I perceive the value of my art. It is not just a way to make ends meat. It is a deeper expression of myself, my intentions. I am creating a grid-pattern. Every piece that I put out there, is connected to my inner hopes, dreams and aspirations for a better world. Those that connect with my art, are connecting to that greater image...To the possibility that each one of us can be the change we wish to see in this world.

I feel very empowered. I might not ever be a whale, but I have already gained so much through this experience. I feel the hope and possibility of my childhood, before I let the world convince me that being an artist is too hard. I don't have to starve. I am striving. I don't have to die to be acknowledged, there are already so many people that have enjoyed my art, shared my vision!

Thank you, steemit! Below is a painting called "Connection" It is of me and my brother, when were children. I feel it is a fitting illustration to how I feel steemit has improved my inner self. I hope you enjoy!

DSCN0438.JPG

Sort:  

First of all, what a delightful painting! You are full of talent!
Steemit has revealed a lot to me, as well. Fear of failure, definitely!
I feel empowered with you! It is the first time in a long time that I have put my creative voice out in the open and received friends and appreciation in return!
Keep doing what you are doing, I am following and looking forward to more posts from you!
Btw, when is your baby due? 😊

My baby is due August 3rd or so :) Thanks for the kind words, I am glad you enjoy my art! I look forward to checking out your blog :)

That is awesome, congratulations! 😊

My dear, as good as always%) I guess I am becoming your fan%)) Warm hugs from me and more inspiration to continue! You are one of the several people whose posts I wait%))
Where the LIGHT shining through_by_sashagengi (11).jpg
PS: Btw I also put your name in the other contest organized here as I really do think you have a wonderful talent! and this time I pressed "upvote" and added my 2 cents%)) hehe.

Thank you so much :) I love your images and encouragement! You are literally breathing new life into me with your support and love <3 I am deeply grateful <3

So it is win-to-win situation%) You support me and inspire%) I support you%) I guess it is should be like this not only here on Steemit, but in the whole world%) blessings and love from me to you and your upcoming baby ♥️🌸 ♥️
🌸

It's great to read you have your passion for art back. Not only do you have your passion for art back but realizing why you have that passion is phenomenal to read. I wish you greatest success with your art. It's beautiful! Have fun with your new baby.

Thank you :) I am grateful for the opportunity to share!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by michelleart from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58866.42
ETH 2515.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46