You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CAPTURED BY TIME (An Original Novel - Chapter 3)

in #story8 years ago

I guess the offered chicken and the man attempting the suicide were some moral tests. If that so I didn’t understand Charles reaction to the chicken. Apparently, by telling that the offering man wore the same suit you’ve hinted that he was of the same social standing. Regardless, though, I didn’t see what went through Charles mind as this has happened? What was the reason for his refusal? Was it because he was fastidious or because he felt that it’s was morally reprehensible to accept anything for free, or what?

The episode with the suicide man brought an old joke in my mind. Unfortunately, it isn’t translated well into English. Here his motivation is a lit clearer. Yet I’d prefer to read how he thinks in order to have a better feeling about him as an alive person, rather than just a pass by character.

On the other hand, the more I read the more I see that the genre that you’ve chosen is an entertainment literature. In this case, character motivations are not that important.

Cheers

Sort:  

Well i guess one must learn as he writes along and listen to his readers =)

I wouldn't want to give away any spoilers but i would like to comment the entertainment literature bit. I am not sure, as this will go into a much more philosphical debate with the 3rd time line (but the 3rd time line will only occur very rarely).

For now i want to try to leave some of the motives to the imagination of the reader. I am a bit afraid to go into huge deabtes by the charectures (dostoevsky style) right in the beggining as in case not scare the reader away.

ahah.. not a debate, please. I was just saying the character’s motivation was not very clear. For me that is. I presume since everybody else don't leave comments and you have over 200 people voted, the character motivations for them is clear enough, or inconsequential.
If you would say in a chicken episode something like “Charles looked at the chicken more attentively, and despite being hungry felt a little noxious imagining that he will have to take a bite out it.” This would have been much more definitive as far as what kind of person he is.
You are doing Good, wink

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.07
ETH 2408.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43