My Letter to the Blockchain: My Story from childhood till now.

in #story6 years ago (edited)
Here is my ode to you blockchain. I doubt if my words will pass for a poem or be rhythmical enough to be a song. But here is an image to my lyrics.

chalkboard-620316__480.jpg
Source

I had no silver spoon to feed myself while growing up, life was a bit tough for me as a kid leaving under a separated home (perhaps, with a different meaning to it) I had to stay with my mom (still with her though) while growing up and my dad visited us rarely. I referred to my parenting care as separated because I never get to experience what my other friends experienced while we were kids. During the weekends, they go to Mall, Park and sometimes Fanfare events as one big family. Although, despite the fact that my mum earns a stipend as income every month, she had to struggle sometimes to make a little saving out of the stipend which cannot obviously feed, cloth or cater for our schooling to get us gifts during seasons like this.

I grew up in a polygamous family, we are united and bounded with love though. My mom had five children - two ladies and three men (I am the last kid). She will soon be in her 60's, she is pretty old but agile (I pray she reap the fruit of her labor). She is a woman in a man's skin, she sacrificed everything for us so that we could be someone in life. Practically, I grew up being close to mom than my dad because he shuttles between Ibadan (our hometown) and where we currently stay (Ile-Ife). I grew up to be mummy's boy rather than being a daddy's boy. While I was writing this, some memories flashed through my head and I would like to share it. Every first of December happens to be a big day for me as a young lad, why? It is my birthday and that very day, mom has forgotten about it due to the fact that she had so many things on her mind. I had to remind her and immediately she gave me money to buy myself big cabin biscuits. That is how each of us in the family gets to remember our day compared to the luxury gifts and party you had during your time. Well, our fingers are not equal. But I can assure you that those moments were the best time ever in my life.

Then, tragedy struck, I lost my dad to a disease of pancreas and liver. It was a big loss for my entire family and especially me because he was my mentor (he wanted me to be a barrister) but unfortunately, he did not live to see me become a barrister. I was in my sophomore year when he died, towards my last paper in school. I was a bit traumatized and I could not focus but I had to finish my paper in order to go see my mom at home. I left school with a scar and nobody to share my story with. I could remember how my dad uses to encourage me during my early days at the Faculty of Law. His voice and words are still ringing in my head till now. Few years after his demise, we had to get back on track and live like he is no longer with us (obviously he is not). But sincerely, the journey has been rough, tough and full of challenges. I cannot be more than grateful that I found the Steem Blockchain. I have been working (blogging/vlogging) and earning a living from my activities here. Thanks to everyone who has supported me so far. I am really grateful!

I really want to hear from you, I know you do have a story to tell... Why don't you share it


Yours, @mediahousent Blockchain host and STEEM enthusiast

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mediahousent from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I really enjoyed reading this personal story!
I am very sad to read that you lost your father

Thank you, it has been a while now though but I miss him so much.

I lost mine in 2002 and will always miss him! I had a tattoo done for over 8 hours to get over the pain. It helped me

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow, is it his face you did on your body? I would like to see that if you don't mind. Maybe via Twitter?

No no not his face ! Just a freehand symbol around my neck and front
FFE90536-5144-44CB-9651-E0F6E9FBAFF2.jpeg

Do you have some free time mamma? Let's hook up on Twitter. Just wanna have a little convo.

Soon:) but ATM I’m a bit overwhelmed to catch up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54642.70
ETH 2317.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33