The Bullshit Investors Club, Rednecks and Crypto, What Could Go Wrong? Chapter Four

in #story7 years ago

Billy popped his laptop open, “See?” he pointed to a candlestick graph inside Poloniex, that indicated a huge uptrend in steem, the crypto currency he’d pegged as their first investment. Their money had already grown by 30% over night.

Need to catch up?

Chapter One

Chapter Two

Chapter Three

“So, when do we get our money?” Wendel asked.

“Well, I could have it as soon as Wednesday, but, the word is, this is just going to keep going up for the foreseeable future. In fact, I’d be surprised if it even slows down before it doubles again,” Billy explained, changing the view to show the Wendel the history.

“Wheeeeww,” Howard whistled. He wrestled a bite from a white bread and ham sandwich. “That’s pretty impressive. See how it rode at the last high for nearly two weeks, Wendel? And this shows the trading volume, which is rising steadily. I’d say Billy’s right.”

Wendel shot a side glance at Howard, and pursed his lips, “Well, it’s not all up to me. We’ll take a vote at our next meeting on Wednesday if Howard says it makes sense. You sure Howard? I like being president and you know what happened to Bob.”

Bob Stephens had run the lottery pool before Wendel. That had been seven years ago, and when his numbers came up losers the third time in a row, across the board, things had gotten ugly. He’d woken up with a dead chicken nailed to his front door, quit his job and moved three states away.

“I mean, really, this and being lead deacon down at the church is all I got,” Wendel said, studying the chart.

“So, if I login on this website here, it shows me what’s going on?”

Howard walked away as Billy launched into a tutorial on using the Poloniex site. “Well, you just have to build a profile, which basically means, you enter your information, like an email and your name, and then, yeah, you can find out how it’s doing.”

“Okay, so it’s like Facebook?” Wendel asked.

“Uh, sure,” Billy looked like he was wrestling with the idea of challenging the older man’s perception, then realized it didn’t really matter.

“So, what’s the news?” Alex asked Howard as he entered the break room. The two men stood watching Billy as they talked.

“Well, it seems to be going okay so far,” Howard said.

“That’s good, I need this to work,” Alex replied. He grabbed a Styrofoam cup and filled it with luke warm coffee, three creamers and five packets of sugar.

“How much did you sink into this?” Howard asked, watching Alex carefully.
Alex sighed, patted Howard on the shoulder, “Don’t worry, they won’t let you cash in your whole 401K, so I’ll be all right.”

Howard’s shoulders dropped as Alex left the breakroom. He felt responsible. Maybe he should have said something.

“Holy crap!” This from Tito, who now stood over Billy’s shoulder, watching the laptop screen. “Did you see that? It just jumped like, I don’t know a lot! Green’s good, right?”

Billy tapped a couple of keys, Howard moved closer to get a better look, “Uh, yeah, it’s very good. Seems it just jumped another 30% over yesterday.”

“Great!” Jonesy, a night foreman who was covering a shift on the day team said. “I want in!”

Wendel smiled, “Sorry, we have to keep this simple.”

“Uh, sorry, Jonesy, but I can show you what to do, if you want,” Billy offered.

“Nah, I don’t even have a computer. Well, my kid’s got one, but I can never get her off it for five minutes. It’s all good. If this takeover don’t work out, I’m heading over to Virginia, my brother’s a foreman at a mine there,” Jonesy grinned, and slapped Billy on the back. “Way to go, little buddy. I hope you make all these greedy bastards filthy rich, maybe one or two will remember me in their wills!”

“Whoa, what was that red spike right there?” Tito roared.

“Just a slight downturn. It happens. After a big jump, there’s going to be a correction,” Billy explained.

“You mean you just lost some of my money, that’s what you mean, huh?” Tito said, menacingly.

“Cool your jets, Tito, what happens when the lottery numbers don’t pay?” Wendel asked, smiling.

Tito thought for a second, It looked like hard work, “We get nothing. But this was up a second ago, how can someone just take part of it?”

Howard stepped in. He pulled pencil from his pocket. “It’s like this, Tito. If you bought ten apples at ten cents a piece, you’d spend how much?”

“That’s easy, I’m not stupid, a dollar,” Tito said.

“Okay,” Howard drew ten circles, then wrote “$1” at the top of the paper.

“Suppose someone offers to buy the apples at twenty-five cents each.”

“Why? I’d just tell them not to be dumb, go buy them at the store for ten cents,” Tito laughed, Sid snickered from across the room.

Howard sighed, “Okay, but suppose the store raises their price to twenty five and you take the apples back, how much are they worth?”

Tito furrowed his brow, “Uh, two fifty, right?”

“Right. So, the price of your apples went up, they are worth more, but how many apples do you have?”

“None, I sold them all for twenty-five cents each. Man, you really think I’m dumb, huh?”

“Okay, but the number of apples, did it change?” Howard asked.

“No, why would it?”

“Exactly. This stuff we’re investing in is like that. We buy a specific amount of “shares” or percentages of shares. As the price goes up, or down, we make money, or we take a loss. But, we still have the same amount of shares. Get it?”

“Yeah, okay. That makes sense. So, the store changed the price?” Tito asked.

“Not ex….” Billy started to answer. Howard laid a hand on Billy’s shoulder.

“Sure, Tito, the store changed the price,” Howard said. Billy nodded, it was much easier this way.

“Cool. I get it. So, we hope they raise the price, so our apples, or, “shares” are worth more,” Tito walked away seemingly satisfied.

“Don’t piss him off,” Howard whispered to Billy.

“Yeah, I got that.” Billy determined never to discuss the Bullshit Investors Club with Tito alone. If something was going to happen, he wanted backup.

Like the story so far? Leave a comment, ask a question, upvote and resteem! Please consider upvoting previous chapters! Thanks!

Sort:  

Yeah, seriously , NO other market is growing as fast as the crypto currency market. We are in a renaissance...

I am blown away by the growth that I have seen. I will never forget reading about Bitcoin mining when it was in it's infancy. Everything we have now (etherum, Steem, etc.) would have not even been on the radar 10 years ago. This is an interesting time to be alive.

the bitcoin story is unbelievable. When i first noticed it was at 20€, i thought alright. Thats a lot , im not buying, then it was 80 the next day and i bought :D. But the mt gox supernova hit me and i lost trust in crypto. I could have had it all (sing)

If we can keep the centralized banks from iceberging our Titanic, we might just be.

By printing more money?

Their only chance is introduction of Govcoin.

Yes please govcoin come and save us all. LOL

he was joking... centralized banks will never touch crypto... if they come up with a coin themselves, no one should buy or support it.

Yes, Tdeezi, perhaps you are not fluent in sarcasm, I was joking as well.

Lol a govcoin will have built in demand as you will have to pay your taxes in it. That's how all government fiat works, you need it as it is the only means of paying your "public debt" aka taxes to the government.

"the first rule of Bullshit Investors Club is: you do not talk about Bullshit Investors Club..."

Wow your photo is very good. I really like it. I try to immortalize in my file. I want to share with you please visit my wall and upvote and follow me @sunbahri

Great Story;
Excellent writing done;
Keep the bars high;
Want to tell you;
As I am new to steemit, I like to follow people all over the world, Of different ages
Following you to learn more about the world you live in !
I hope you will check out my profile too now and then !
@saurabhgupta
Have awesome posts about the travelling ,poems, drawing, historical places, and the tech part.
I have upvoted and followed you.

interesting article! thanks for posting^^

I like the story thanks for sharing

deserve upvote and resteem

no problem dude....always get my support....

new chapter is up

thanks for inform.... :)

ALL i can say is WOW

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68140.53
ETH 3250.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65