Perspectives

in #story7 years ago

The crystal air that's left after a heavy rain day; that's how life should be. The flashes of different lights would gently pose upon my eyes and I would fill my lungs with nothing but a bliss in my heart. Some sad or lonely guy would pass beside me and I would be ignorant as to the source of his pain. Oh, and the possibilities! The excitement about what the future would hold for me. I would wonder and daydream about the different courses and turns my life would make; Passion would drive me and love would have the final say. And my soul would be mine and would compromise to no-one. And would always tell between right from wrong, between truth from lies. And the rivers within me would flow peacefully only perturbed by my own desires.

But then, my faith was shattered by a broken promise and what was whole could never be again. Innocence became a memory zealously guarded by a little boy living inside of me and the facts of magic were no longer possible.

Distractedly picking up the crumbs left by fate I helplessly fell in love with a beautiful, kind and courageous woman who treated me like I know I don't deserve. Time folded back in retreat only for us to remember it`s existence through the arrival of the occasional starless night she and I would share under a placid moonlight. As she left me, I discovered some promises are meant to be broken.

I forgot about the crystal air and the possibilities. Passion had long left me since all feelings need a reason to stay. Oh, and time made me pay in kind for my indifference detracting each and every day from its taste.

Walking home on a fair Tuesday night after a heavy rainy day, a kid marveled by the wonders of a new world passed besides me, and I knew I was that sad person whose sadness he knew nothing about. Infected by his unpolluted joy, an indiscernible spark warmed my heart waking my soul form its long sleep

Now that I find myself I know, everyone`s lost in their own way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63656.97
ETH 2473.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66