Winter Daydreams

in #story7 years ago

In my New York winter (day)dreams, I’ve run away to somewhere in the middle of the sparsely populated west—preferably to Wyoming; maybe Cheyenne, maybe some time in June. This non-memory stands in blunt contrast to the reality of bitter cold and inescapable urban chaos.

I’ve made a friend. Going back a few moments, I pull into the parking lot of a 24-hour mart on the outskirts of the city. The sun set fifteen-or-so minutes ago and it's not quite dark yet. It's warm outside and the air has this slightly smoky-dry scent. I'm wearing a grey thermal (despite the temperature of approximately 78 degrees) over a black tank top, tight jeans that are a darker shade of grey, threadbare black socks, and all-black tennis shoes that are now covered in a thin layer of light brown, dusty clay from the road trip. It's quiet. Quiet and dream-like. Still and surreal. And that's the moment I meet my new friend.


Los Angeles Natural History Museum, 2015

At that moment, I could (theoretically) be anyone. I could have come from anywhere. Still, I choose to be myself. Beyond that very first moment of meeting my new friend, I'm not sure about the catalyst or the content of those first few sentences. Daydreams are allowed some plot holes. But I do know that at some point in the not-very-distant future--an amount of hours beyond 24 but still in the double digits--I'm in the passenger seat choosing the next song on an old, beat up iPod through a cassette tape auxiliary cord, and the window is cracked open. It doesn't matter where we're going because THIS precise moment is the adventure by definition, and it's all I really want.

Sort:  

I love this line:

Daydreams are allowed some plot holes.

You are one talented writer, and by that I mean you have a gift for spinning words. Cherish it, it's rare.

Daydreams are allowed some plot holes.

I just love this sentence, it's brilliant.

That’s very kind of you to say. Thank you so much for reading!

Wow, this really captured my imagination!

I choose to be myself. Beyond that very first moment of meeting my new friend, I'm not sure about the catalyst or the content of those first few sentences. Daydreams are allowed some plot holes.

Daydreams are such interesting things, and this really conveys their incomplete-but-captivating nature. And then the last line, which really could be some kind of life mantra: "It doesn't matter where we're going because THIS precise moment is the adventure by definition, and it's all I really want." POW! Love it.

Thank you for the comment! When I lived in New York, I was a constant daydreamer. I felt so stifled by my surroundings. Some people are excited by the infinite possibilities of bright lights and bustling crowds, but I just wanted the hidden adventures in peace and emptiness. That was one way that I knew I had to leave. An occasionally daydream is healthy, but constantly struggling with your mind and wanting to be somewhere else? That's when you decide to make a change.

You should write about your own daydreams!

I am about to move to central Illinois for grad school, after living 16 years in Portland, OR, and I am so ready for a change! Looking forward to the quiet and relaxed environment of a different place.

I don't keep hold of daydreams well—I forget them almost as soon as I leave them. But maybe I should write them down, like I do my dreams!

Entirely transported. So now I stand there at the Mart - without a dollar on me - wasn't expecting to go out this late. You've just gone off with your new friend, and I am surrounded by bison filling in the plot holes you left. Help! Come back...

Oh shit! Sorry about that. Okay, coming right back to get you. That's fine, we didn't really have a destination in mind anyway.

Finally! All night out here, now look at my socks! Nibbled at by bison. Let's get outta here, stat.

This morning I walked outside and smelled the morning dew mixed with... Dirt? Pine? Something. I could see myself waking up in a tent far, far away, getting excited about gross coffee and a hot breakfast. I need to get out more, methinks.

I live for gross coffee and hot breakfast. Well, maybe not the gross part, but the coffee and hot breakfast for sure. Sometimes it motivates me to go to sleep at night, knowing I will wake up at a time appropriate for such things. The tent though, I don’t know about that.... but I like where you’re going with this.

Next time I go camping I gotta see if I can get away with taking a decent brewing apparatus. Instant is nice but it's really gross, especially when you throw in powdered milk. Waking up outdoors makes everything a luxury, though. You gotta try it.

You just planted 0.25 tree(s)!


Thanks to @malloryblythe

We have planted already 3600.59 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18640.40
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

This post has been selected by Altruistic as a post of the day has been given an upvote.
You may join us on her discord server: https://discord.gg/KHB9eJk.

Please kindly upvote this comment in order to keep us helping plankton and minnows that their quality posts are undervalued.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 21:25:46
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 25.15/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 10
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77