1st Basement Flood of the Winter & Other Things I Got Up To Today

in #story7 years ago

It's That Time Of Year Again...

Basement flood season. One of the things that happens every year and lets us know spring is near. When we moved into this house our landlord warned us about the basement. Everything is kept up on tables because of the many different leaks downstairs. All it takes is a good rainstorm after the ground has been frozen and we get to go swimming :) I warned you that I would blog about this! I always deliver.

IMG_4227.JPG

Puddle Barometers Gone Wild!

Screen Shot 2018-02-05 at 8.44.53 AM.png

Screen Shot 2018-02-05 at 8.45.13 AM.png

Our Weather Today in Hacketts Cove, Canada

I Was So Happy @Hendrix22 Was Home!

It started in the morning before Brendan went to work so he struggled with the stupid pump and hose while I took photos (usually the basement floods while he's at work). You can see why he loves me so much hey? I'm just charming.

IMG_4230.JPG

Gotta put the pump in a bucket with a screen so no crap gets sucked up and clog the pump, yes, it's happened before hahaha. We temporarily broke the pump that way one time and our landlord had to come running over with another pump.

IMG_4232.JPG

Not a bad flood at all so far, you will see much much better floods as the winter progresses to spring.

IMG_4234.JPG

You can't tell from the photo but there is a lot of swearing happening now, somehow there's a knot in this hose hahahhahaha!! How, how is this possible? Did we procrastinate putting it away properly last time? Nooooo...not us, we always have our shit together and are never a #hotmess :)

IMG_4235.JPG

Brendan Got It Sorted, Now I'm Home Alone

But as a Chicken Mommy I'm never truly alone...

IMG_4226.JPG

I give my ladies AKA The #ChickenBitches some scratch. They ate it and then proceeded to cower under the deck and in the barn until the storm subsided. Poor gals...the wind actually freaks them out a lot when it's this fierce.

IMG_4244.JPG

Rain was just pouring off of our roof, I tried to capture it through the window but it didn't really show up too well. The white spots are the rain lol.

IMG_4248.JPG

Baking Buns

IMG_4250.JPG

I love how hideous and creepy my tats look with crusted, dried up dough on them after kneading...my artist would be appalled.

IMG_4251.JPG

IMG_4263.JPG

IMG_4262.JPG

The Rain Stopped By Mid Afternoon

And it turned out to be a beautiful evening...

IMG_4252.jpg

A reflection of the sunset shining through trees, in the glass of a print we have hanging on the wall.

IMG_4258.JPG

Sunset after rain, lighting up the tree fort.

IMG_4260.JPG

IMG_4259.JPG

Casting its Heavenly Hue...

IMG_4261.JPG

And one last pic...special for @joordanzzz :)

IMG_4255.JPG

Sort:  

You can't tell from the photo but there is a lot of swearing happening now.

I can tell! 😂
I've had a similar ongoing issue at work it's like.....

I feel for @hendrix22 I know exactly what a bastard those pumps can be, I made a cage for the one we use here.

A least he gets to come home to your tasty buns!

image.jpeg

AHHAA epic comment TP! I'm sorry you have to be the flood man at work, that's lame. I sure hope one day you and the Mrs can enjoy some squidgy buns in real life!! xoxoxoxo

You know what it's like babe, all hands to the pump literally!

DQmektvHRyJBJG1KhvzFtGgPBaLwMPTdSMcZXhRm1w5hxEE_1680x8400.jpeg

Omg yes this is the best hahah. Thanks for the awesome dab lol. I remeber you telling me about the floods in the basement like yesterday or 2 days ago and here it is. It must be really annoying to deal with all the water 😒 but atleast spring is coming and the sun will start shinning on a daily 🌞 and atleast you have a indoor swimming pool hah 😂 great post @lyndsaybowes and thanks for the dab 👍

Omg haha!! I'm soooooooo happy that you saw this just for you!!! xoxo You are so very welcome, and thank you for seeing this post!! xoxoxoxox

Good day to bake buns (actually every day is a good day!) I don't blame the chickens. Our animals don't like wind storms either especially when accompanied by driving rain. I can sympathize with you about the water in the basement. When we lived on the farm we had a new house built and somehow the field tile was broken and redirected to the basement. We didn't notice until the first heavy rains came and the water in the basement rose four feet in one night! We used a 4 inch irrigation pump to rain the water then found the contractor to rectify the problem! Furnace needed to be replaced. Everything else survived.

Omg 4 feet in one night! That is incredible...that's deeper than the kids pool at the swimming pool whoaa~~~~

Yeah! All the water from a 100-acre farm drained into the basement! I was not impressed, to say the least...

Hey @lyndsaybowes I feel for you with the flood! I wonder how deep it would get if left to it's own devices? Not that I'm suggesting it! lol

I'm loving the sunset pictures, simply beautiful .. and a reward for all the bloody rain. It's s a beautiful day here today, shame I can't get out as I'm still awaiting the return of my car lol

Those buns have just reminded my stomach how hungry I am! Time for lunch I think. Another great post @lyndsaybowes whenever I'm having a busy day at work I just switch over to your blog and instant tonic! Keep up the good work!!

Aw, thanks for the visit my loving Friend! If left to its own devices...on a bad rainstorm, I bet we could get a few feet of water down there! Hell one time with the pump we got a foot, if the washer/dryer and furnace weren't on stands we would have been royally screwed!! xoxo Keeps things exciting though haha!! And I love excitement of any kind :) :) :) Enjoy your lunch sweetie!!!! xoxox

Yes, I always wanted an indoor pool... until I suddenly had one!
tip! Thanks for your support!

Ooh thanks so much for the tip you sweet Angel!!! xoxoxoxo

Ummmm awesome dab there!!!
Nice buns too😉 I could totally tell there was swearing hahaha!! I see the hose was a #hotmess too!! 😂

  • First low VP and now flooding ? :-r
    for me it was an hour w/ tech support
  • My nose is imagining the smell of bread
  • That last picture haaha...

Gotta run!

My VP is coming back baby! I abstained from STEEM for the most part all day, god that was so hard!!!!! What was your support for? Shit blowing up on you over there?

I am gonna have to get you some of these buns one day :) :) :) Or you're gonna have to meet a nice gal and I'll give her the recipe <3 xo Unless you're up for the challenge? OverKillBuns?

Overkillbuns - hahahaaahahaaaa... I almost burned the kitchen down once, might as well complete the mission next time around ☺

I think tomorrow may be my steem break... I'm at 73 again... Things are complicated with my day work and it's sort of sabotaging my steeming... Need to do simpler posts, I've been killing myself with the 4 - 6 hour posts ☺

Need to pace myself and concentrate better.

Yeah, protect your Energy first of all! I cannot wait for the day that your day job fucks off!!

@lyndsaybowes, It's little bit flood condition. But give high warning through alert effects for be careful. How about wind condition? I guess all are ok and being good health.
Chicken family enjoying with rain. They find foods with walking whole group. I will find my favorite chicken next day. You've nicely taken background scenery under the rain condition.
Handsome tattoo design indeed. Who's handed one? Also breaking bun making me hungry and feel bun's smell now. Delicious. Mmmmmmm......
After the rain sunset and around nature created amazing designs and decorations. So beautiful. Excellent contribution.

One day you will have to come to Canada, and break bread with us, and pick your favourite chicken haha! :) Thank you for visiting my blog, and writing me such thoughtful words @madushanka!

Well prepared and still in great humour, wonderful to see. Well see if it continues at the storm progress. Have a cracking now now the storm is over 💯🐒

Oh I would NOT want to have to deal with flooding!! I think you’re allowed to be the “charming photographer” this time, if you’re the one who normally has to deal with it. :)

That one pic you took out the window with the greenhouse—just look at those monster flood puddles!! Ready to swallow you down! Of course to a kid those scream “splash in me!”

That would be heaven splashing in there...you are so right, I can't believe the boys didn't go for it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67638.45
ETH 2614.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67