30 Years in 500 Words or Less

in #story6 years ago

We are having our first board meeting for @thefoundry this coming Thursday. For one, it is exciting to see how far the organization has come in a year. Secondly, it is enjoyable to sum up my life in a short bio for people. The following is that bio. I thought it was a good idea to save it for perpetuity on the Steem blockchain, and share it with my friends.

I received my first stock certificate when I was two days young. Forgive me, but I do not remember what the price was. I do, however, know it was a banking stock because my father bought it for me.

Being a steward of finances has been part of my heritage for as long as I can remember. My father has always been good with numbers, and he passed that joy for managing the Lord’s money onto me. Now, I hope you don’t read this and think that all I am concerned with is money, quite the contrary. You see my calling is to be a theologian in business. Ever since I made a profession of faith when I was 7 years young, my desire to be a man after God’s own heart has never wavered. There have been times of disobedience and struggles with lust, but I was never a rebellious child and have taken after my mother with her quiet spirit.

Merging the strengths of my parents has been a goal of mine as a firstborn child. My mother has a discerning spirit that yearns for truth and seeks it with a relentless loyalty. That can sometimes lead her to be too reflective, and it is learning from her example that I have worked to be more outgoing and charismatic as my father is. Combining those two traits has enabled the calling that is on my life.

Our family has a history of being entrepreneurs, but we have not always had a fair understanding of what it means to be kingdom minded business owners. The difference is that rather than working for a living, we now choose to work for a giving. My grandparents have lead the way in this, and seek out ministry opportunities in their ambassador years while giving back their millions to the Lord. Their example coupled with my training at Reformation Bible College has been an invaluable influence as I seek to be a theologian in business.
All this may sound heady and idealistic, but in reality I am a simple man who grew up as a homeschooler, married another homeschooler, and loves to see her fulfilling the calling on her life. My wife Abi and I have a dream to open holistic healing centers once she has licensure as a counselor. We believe in helping people heal as a whole and not just treating a symptom or a piece of their life. When something is wrong in us as human beings, every piece of us spirit and body is affected. Abi and I long to see people healed from past experiences as they rest content in the saving grace of God. We look forward to having a place of peace as we treat not only the mental side of the problems, but find the nutritional needs of the body to make a vibrant believer ready for service to our King.


Sort:  

A nice Nick Foles type of look to you. With a little Kirk Cousins. Good mind, good soul. Good read.

A super bowl ring and dashing good looks, I like that, lol. Thank you my friend. Good to hear from you!

Sounds like an ambitious plan, my friend- Do you feel called to pastor or do you see yourself as a tent-making co-labourer? :)

Good question. The call for pastoring has not come. Tent-making laborer it is for now. :)

Your story can motivate many people who are looking for answers for their lives, you will truly receive many blessings by sharing the teachings you have received from your parents, grandparents and the living word of Jesus. God bless you

Thank you my dear friend. You always speak kind and encouraging words.

Blessings, brother.

You have a rich heritage. :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank you, @creatr! Yes, Abi and I are blessed with a rich heritage :)

Time just flies away and makes all of us stronger and better for sure :) great to know about it

I have no doubt you guys will do much good in the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56