Second chances

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Second chances. Some say it’s luck; for others, fate. I call it a blessing. I recognize that not everyone is given second chances, but I am part of the few that were given such, not once but twice. Let me tell you my story about second chances.

My life is far from perfect. I’ve made misguided decisions and have gone astray a few times. There are some days I feel like a failure and days I just want to give up. My low self-esteem is fueled because I keep on letting myself down – not to mention others’ opinions that aim to further put me down and step on my being. I was ready to surrender and just live my life the way it is. Until I received my blessing – my second chance.

My blessing came in the form of someone who, as cliché as it sounds, sees beyond my imperfections. My blessing (MB) not only knows my whole being, but accepts, understands and occasionally defends me whenever I receive criticisms. MB believes in me and what I can do, is my cheerleader in triumph and the one who weeps silently when I am condemned. With MB, I could be my true self and know that I will not be judged nor held against for my past. Above all, MB gave me love that I never saw before and I know will never see anywhere else. MB and I went through a lot of challenges. I knew all of those were bound to come, but at the start I was in shock and apparently unready. Being the person that I am, I was easily brought down by these trials and was constantly blaming myself and feeling the same things when I still haven’t received my blessing. I thought I was a failure, I cannot be happy and that I deserve these negativities. With all these, I became weak and resorted to going back to bad thoughts and habits, ultimately making me lose MB.

In the pursuit of spreading positivity and hope in this article, all I would say about that time was this: It was indescribably difficult. I mentioned that I was given a second chance twice. This is because after the gruesome seven months that we were apart, I am blessed enough to receive yet another second chance on my second chance at life - My Blessing. We now have OUR second chance to make things right and better. I am eternally grateful though I cannot seem to believe I am this blessed. I must have done something right. MB, who found the means to inspire me and make me believe in myself, is back once again to motivate me and prove that love truly conquers all, and give me love by its true meaning and essence.

I wrote this article not just to share a small part of my life, even though I find it too cheesy and maybe corny, but because I want to inspire people, especially those that are like me that have low self-esteem and regard themselves as failures. One, believe me – you are not. And Two, there is someone who would accept you and be with you as you go through life, no matter what other people say. Your blessing will come, and this blessing will make you believe not just in yourself but in life, in love and as they say, in forever.

I hope that whoever is reading this already found their chance to be happy & complete just like me. Thanks be to God for his unspeakable gift.

Image Hosted At MyspaceGens

Sort:  

Excellent post! I really enjoyed this blog post and can relate immensely to what you so perfectly described. Your story is very touching and inspiring! I am really happy to hear about your second chance with MB and hope everything goes well. (I know it will from what you write, it's definitely true love.)

I have felt this before myself; the feeling of low self-esteem and feeling like a failure, and although it is very hard, there are people, as you say, who will see through that and will love you and accept you regardless of your current state. I myself am very lucky and blessed to have recently found someone like this in my life. It is an amazing experience. It really showed me what true love is.

Well done, and thank you for sharing!

PS: If you are interested and have some spare time, I have some poetry on my blog. :)

wow.... nice blog.

Nice post, agreed & upvoted! 😊👍

Congratulations @lucio.tabora! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50