Mike's Writing Challenge Week #2 - The First 34 Days Of Steem

in #story7 years ago (edited)

notebook-1209921_1280.jpg

Day 1
So I signed up for this steemit thing a week ago. A whole week ago and I’m just now getting approved to use my account, kmt. I wonder what all the fuss was about, I hope it’s not another Ponzi scheme; at least my money isn’t in it.

Wow, so many people making money on here. Wait $540? For one post? And it’s just some pictures with little text. Well damn, I gotta get me some of this. What’s the first thing to do here? Introduce myself innit; where’s that picture I took outside that fancy restaurant a month ago. That should do it.

Day 2
Well my introduce myself post made $10, not a bad start. Time to draft some posts and start seeing em dollars rise baby.

Day 4
What the hell is this cheetah’s problem? Commenting on my posts and shit. So good ol’ copy and paste is too good for y’all. Damn, a homie has to start crafting posts and all that, this might be harder than I thought.

Day 8
20 posts later and I’ve still only made $10 from my introduce myself post. Apparently I’m a minnow or some shit and the people making all the money are whales. Steemit sucks; I even started writing all this shit myself too. All em whales have tons of followers. How am I even supposed to compete? Time to rely on some classic social media strategy. Follow for follow my good friends.

Day 18
So now I got about 400 followers, but my payouts aint increased a bit! What the hell? A new friend I made told me about an upvote dealer. I guess I might as well see what that’s about.

Day 20
The upvote dealer helped, his name’s Rando and thanks to him I make about $2 on every post now. I’ve also given up on that follow for follow thing, that shit don’t work here. Gotta start leaving good comments on posts and engaging the society, thought this was supposed to be good free money; it’s turning into a lot of work. I should have joined last year, would’ve been a whale too. Just my luck.

Day 28
Hell no. Rando don fucked me up. I paid for an upvote and that homie didn’t give me anything, talking about technical difficulties and shit. Just what I get for getting in bed with a dealer. Started getting some real engagement though, people actually read my shit and leave comments. I might not even need that dealer no more.

Day 34
Yo this steemit thing is actually hella fun. I didn’t even notice I started spending all my time on here. So many nice people here, I guess this is what living in Canada must feel like. And the dollars have started rolling in too, slowly but I’ll get there eventually. In the meantime I’m gonna live it up with my steem homies yo.


Thank you for reading. This post is my entry into Mike's writing challange. Here is the prompt given:

DQmf48F65JH9pFrZS8fzj7GWegA33EPMfWfESVcdoBnU4TA_1680x8400.png
Source

I don't know why I wrote this with the inner voice of a black American male. Must be because of the movie I was watching earlier.

First image courtesy of pixabay.com

Sort:  

You've received a FULL upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occassionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...

image.png

Interested in joining us? Come join our Discord server at:

https://discord.gg/7kYYrw9

#TheUnmentionables

Please upvote this comment to help us pass out higher dollar value upvotes in the future!

Doing my best Kanye West imitation here (so imagine the scene ... and the voice) -- "Yo, I'm really happy for you and I'mma let you finish, but @lordmok had one of the best entries of all time. One of the best entries of all time!"

I just had to drop by and say that!

From #theunmentionables

Hahaha, @enchantedspirit just dropped the best comment of all time! Thank you so much

Haha good post, I posted something similar recently. Steemit can definitely become very time consuming, but you need to enjoy the process. As a Canadian I chuckled a bit at the last part.

Yeah I read that post, I could relate completely. Very true, the fact that Steemit is fun is the icing on the cake. All hail the Maple leaf

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

The Internet is a great field for truth and lies. Now it is very difficult to recognize where the truth is. Resteemed...

That it is, thank you for stopping by :)

Nice post, I'm still new here though, obviously I need a trailer load of patience and I got it from reading this post, kudos

Thanks for stopping by, be consistent and engage people, you'll get used to the platform soon enough.

wow....registered a few days back and I just couldnt stay off. But to be sincere it aint easy at all for we newbies even with quality posts.

The main thing to do when you start is interact with people. Leave good comments on the posts you like and eventually people will notice you. Then when you write try to be consistent. I'm also a newbie, not been here up to a month, just let people notice you.

Haha, cool article.
Thanx for explaining, it's my 8th day now.
No dealers for me, haha.
Good luck. ;)

Hahaha. You'll get the hang of it. Just read people posts and leave meaningful comments like this one, it gets easier. You should also get discord and join the PAL.net server to get some help and boost. Steem on friend

Thanx a lot. :D

Kudos to you sensei

nicely done!

I love the line about this must be what it feels like to live in Canada. Too much!

Thank you for entering! We need more entries or I will have to declare you first through third place!

Hahaha, hopefully we get some more soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61182.87
ETH 3360.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49